Controllerless Networks

last person joined: yesterday 

Instant Mode - the controllerless Wi-Fi solution that's easy to set up, is loaded with security and smarts, and won't break your budget
Expand all | Collapse all

Hanging IAP-105s off RAP5

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  Hanging IAP-105s off RAP5

Posted Feb 24, 2013 10:05 PM

I'm a little new to Aruba products and WiFi configuration in general...so bare with me. We have an off-site showroom that needs VPN access several times a year. Last year we used a couple of RAP-5s to VPN back to the corporate network, which worked great, but the two devices weren't enough to handle all the users (100+ devices). So what I am wanting to do is have one RAP-5 at the location and have 6 IAP-105s to handle the devices. Can this be done? Can the IAPs broadcast the VPN SSIDs from the RAP5? If yes, how would you configure this?

Any feedback is appreciated!

Troy

• 2.  RE: Hanging IAP-105s off RAP5

Posted Feb 24, 2013 10:16 PM

You may consider just using the IAPs to handle your clients and do without the RAP-5s.   The virtual controller of the IAP can then VPN back to your office location; removing the need for the RAP-5 in your case.        Review the VPN Configuration chapter in the IAP User Guide to see if it will provide you with what you need.

High level summary from the guide:

The IAP supports termination of a VPN tunnel on the Aruba controller.  VPN features are ideal for:

• enterprises with many branches that do not have a dedicated VPN connection to the corporate office.
    • branch offices that require multiple APs.
    • individuals working from home, connecting to the VPN.

This new architecture and form factor seamlessly adds the survivability feature of Instant APs with the VPN
    connectivity of RAPs — providing corporate connectivity to non-corporates

• 3.  RE: Hanging IAP-105s off RAP5

Posted Feb 25, 2013 09:40 AM

Thank you for the reply!