Controllerless Networks

Reply
Aruba Employee
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-28-2016

IAP-205H will not join my existing IAP

I have IAP network of two IAP225's which is work fine. I cannot get either of my  IAP-205H to join the APs avilble as shown in the GUI.  I am running poe and plugging into the E0 port on the back of the iap 205.  Yes I am in the same L2 network. from the VC CLI I see the AP dynamically joins the AP-allow list but is not part of the IAP network. show aps only show my two existing 225's

Any idea's

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,485
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: IAP-205H will not join my existing IAP

Upgrade the AP205 code to match the IAP-225 code.

 

Typically the existing cluster will send the code to a new AP if it is the same model.  If it is a different model that wants to join, it will redirect it to the Aruba cloud to download the code.  It is possible that your firewall is blocking the code.  I would boot the IAP-205 on a different network, connect to the "instant" SSID and upgrade the code to match that of the IAP-225.  When that is done, boot it up on the same VLAN as the IP-225.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Aruba Employee
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-28-2016

Re: IAP-205H will not join my existing IAP

Thank-you Joseph, you nailed it !!  :)

Aruba Employee
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-28-2016

Re: IAP-205H will not join my existing IAP

Okay new problem..

-My existing network cluster consists of 2x  IAP-225-RW has firmware 6.4.2.6-4.1.1.11_52666

-My new IAP-205H-RW, that I want to join the cluster, has firmware 6.4.3.0-4.2.0.0_49453

 

Using "Check for new version" from cloud, both the existing network and the new 205H, --No new version availible-- 

 

So how do I get both these IAP 225 and 205H on the same firmware so they can be on the same IAP cluster ??

I went support.arubanetworks.com and downloaded ArubaInstant_Taurus_6.4.2.6-4.1.1.11_52666 and tried a manual update to the 205H so that it would have the same version as the 225's. However the 205H complained it did not like the the firmware file. It would not accept it..

 

Suggestions ??

 

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,485
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: IAP-205H will not join my existing IAP

What was the exact error?  That should work...



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Aruba Employee
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-28-2016

Re: IAP-205H will not join my existing IAP

Upgrade Failed

Invalid Image File

 

 

see attached

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,485
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: IAP-205H will not join my existing IAP

[ Edited ]

Can you please check the md5 sum on that download:

 

md5 ArubaInstant_Taurus_6.4.2.6-4.1.1.11_52666 
MD5 (ArubaInstant_Taurus_6.4.2.6-4.1.1.11_52666) = 918454e223767ba0c8e8f4ef884305b9

 

 Also, make sure you didn't change the filename.  if you downloaded it more than once, it might put a (1) in the filename...



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Aruba Employee
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-28-2016

Re: IAP-205H will not join my existing IAP

918454e223767ba0c8e8f4ef884305b9

 

I downloaded twice and saved in diferrent directories.  I did not rename it...  Same MD5 for both files

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,485
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: IAP-205H will not join my existing IAP

hmm...  Are your IAP-225s in production?  Would you be against upgrading those to match the IAP 205H?  I can send you code for both...

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Aruba Employee
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-28-2016

Re: IAP-205H will not join my existing IAP

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: