Controllerless Networks

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-01-2016

IAP-215 insufficient POE voltage

Hi,

I am trying to add a 3rd IAP-215 to my network, but the device is not able to be contacted via the GUI.   upon connecting to the unit via serial cable, i found it was continually rebooting after failing at ADP.   Further tinkering (and adding a local dns entry for aruba-master) allowed the device to boot, but then stated an "insuffcient POE voltage" error.   I am still unable to get the unit online, and cannot get to the GUI.

 

Full boot output is below.   Any suggestions?

 


APBoot 1.5.3.9 (build 43867)
Built: 2014-05-21 at 19:31:10

Model: AP-21x
CPU:   P1010E, Version: 1.0, (0x80f90010)
Core:  E500, Version: 5.1, (0x80212151)
Clock:
       CPU0: 800 MHz
       CCB:  400 MHz
       DDR:  400  MHz (800 MT/s data rate) (Asynchronous)
       LBC:   unknown (LCRR[CLKDIV] = 0x00)
L1:    D-cache 32KB enabled
       I-cache 32KB enabled
I2C:   ready
DRAM:  Configuring DDR for 800 MT/s data rate
DDR:   256 MB (DDR3, 32-bit, CL=6, ECC off)
POST1: memory passed
Flash: 32 MB
L2:    256 KB enabled
Power: 802.3af POE
PCIe1: RC, link up, x1
       dev fn venID devID class  rev    MBAR0    MBAR1    MBAR2    MBAR3
       00  00  14e4  4360 00002   03 80000004 00000000 00000000 00000000
PCIe2: RC, link up, x1
       dev fn venID devID class  rev    MBAR0    MBAR1    MBAR2    MBAR3
       00  00  14e4  4360 00002   03 a0000004 00000000 00000000 00000000
Net:   eth0
Radio: bcm43460#0, bcm43460#1

Hit <Enter> to stop autoboot:  0
Checking image @ 0xee000000
Invalid image format version: 0xffffffff
Checking image @ 0xeee00000
Copying image from 0xeee00000

Image is signed; verifying checksum... passed
Signer Cert OK
Policy Cert OK
RSA signature verified.
[    0.000000] Flash variant: variant0
[    0.000000]
[    0.000000] Aruba Networks
[    0.000000] ArubaOS Version 6.4.1.0 (build 43882 / label #43882)
[    0.000000] Built by p4build@cyprus on 2014-05-22 at 14:24:44 PDT (gcc version 4.5.1)
[    0.000000]
[    0.000000] P1010 RDB board from Freescale Semiconductor
[    0.000000] Memory: 250004k/262144k available (8904k kernel code, 12140k reserved, 496k data, 358k bss, 5512k init)
[    0.001488] Brought up 1 CPUs
[    0.077622] PCI: Probing PCI hardware
[    0.120670] pci 0000:00:00.0: PCI bridge to [bus 01-ff]
[    0.183575] pci 0001:02:00.0: PCI bridge to [bus 03-ff]
[    0.245798] pci 0000:00:00.0: not setting up bridge for bus 0000:01
[    0.320369] pci 0001:02:00.0: not setting up bridge for bus 0001:03
[    4.190397] fsl-ifc ffe1e000.ifc: Freescale Integrated Flash Controller
[    4.295220] Kprobe smoke test started
[    4.345143] Kprobe smoke test passed successfully
[    4.506044] ee000000.nor: Found 1 x16 devices at 0x0 in 16-bit bank
[    4.581086] Amd/Fujitsu Extended Query Table at 0x0040
[    4.642577] number of CFI chips: 1
[    4.686978] fsl-gianfar ethernet.2: enabled errata workarounds, flags: 0x4
[    4.769341] gfar_probe: Renaming interface to bond0
[    4.828105] /proc/gfar_bond0_stats created
[    4.890185] Enabling watchdog on CPU 0
[    4.938543] Disabled fips elf aesccm selftest
[    4.990768]
[    4.990772] Starting Kernel SHA1 KAT ...Completed Kernel SHA1 KAT
[    5.082512] Starting Kernel HMAC-SHA1 KAT ...Completed Kernel HMAC-SHA1 KAT
[    5.172186] Starting Kernel DES KAT ...Completed Kernel DES KAT
[    5.244136] Starting Kernel AES KAT ...Completed Kernel AES KAT
[    5.287930]
[    5.333795] Starting Kernel HMAC SHA1 FIPS KAT ...Completed Kernel HMAC SHA1 FIPS KAT
[    5.429100] Starting Kernel HMAC SHA256 FIPS KAT ...Completed Kernel HMAC SHA256 FIPS KAT
[    5.532310] Starting Kernel HMAC SHA384 FIPS KAT ...Completed Kernel HMAC SHA384 FIPS KAT
[    5.636463] Starting Kernel HMAC SHA512 FIPS KAT ...Completed Kernel HMAC SHA512 FIPS KAT
[    5.740595] Starting Kernel AES-CBC FIPS KAT ...Completed Kernel AES-CBC FIPS KAT
[    5.837878] Starting Kernel 3DES-CBC FIPS KAT ...Completed Kernel 3DES-CBC FIPS KAT
Domain Name: arubanetworks.com
No panic info available
[    7.010219] AP xml model 84, num_radios 2 (jiffies 3332)
[    7.073834] init_asap_mod: installation:0
[    7.121775] radio 0: band 1 ant 0 max_ssid 16
[    7.173879] radio 1: band 0 ant 0 max_ssid 16
Starting watchdog process...
Getting an IP address...
[    9.477829] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): bond0: link is not ready
[   40.521783] PHY: bond0 (mdio@ffe24000:00) - Link is Up - 1000/Full
[   40.595850] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): bond0: link becomes ready
192.168.1.158 255.255.255.0 192.168.1.1
Running ADP...Done. Master is 192.168.1.7
[   96.485490] wifi0: AP type AP-215, radio 0, max_bssids 16
[   96.581322] Shutting down 2 2.4G radio TX/RX chains due to insufficient POE voltage[power profile 2]
[   96.702521] wifi1: AP type AP-215, radio 1, max_bssids 16
shutting down watchdog process (nanny will restart it)...

        <<<<<       Welcome to the Access Point     >>>>>

~ #

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,488
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: IAP-215 insufficient POE voltage

What kind of switch are you using,?


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-01-2016

Re: IAP-215 insufficient POE voltage

The switch is a Netgear GS724TP

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,488
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: IAP-215 insufficient POE voltage

That switch only supports 802.3af.  Do you know how many other devices you are powering?



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-01-2016

Re: IAP-215 insufficient POE voltage

The only other devices are (2) other iap 215 access points. I have also tried powering with a POE+ injector and got the Sam result.
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,488
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: IAP-215 insufficient POE voltage

What make and model POE injector?

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-01-2016

Re: IAP-215 insufficient POE voltage

I have two different injectors, each with the same result:

TrendNET TPE 115GI
And a
ws‑gpoe‑6

Michael De Cou
Industry Standard Servers
Hewlett Packard Enterprise
(908) 963-6969
michael.decou@hpe.com
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-01-2016

Re: IAP-215 insufficient POE voltage

I have two different injectors, each with the same result:

TrendNET TPE 115GI
And a
ws‑gpoe‑6
MVP
Posts: 1,404
Registered: ‎11-07-2008

Re: IAP-215 insufficient POE voltage

Don't connect the POE injector to a POE enabled switch port. Injectors are passive and will not 'take over' for the switch. So you can either connect the injector to a non-POE enabled port, or disable POE on that port. 

 

Second, check/replace/test other cables. The AP-215 doesn't require 802.3at, and should run on af power, but if the cable is leading to excessive voltage drop/loss, then it can report that on the 215.

 

Finally if using the injectors on non-POE ports doesn't work, and multiple cables report the same issue, then you can open a TAC case to see about a replacement. 

Jerrod Howard
Sr. Techical Marketing Engineer
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: