Controllerless Networks

last person joined: yesterday 

Instant Mode - the controllerless Wi-Fi solution that's easy to set up, is loaded with security and smarts, and won't break your budget
Expand all | Collapse all

IAP -- WPA-Enterprise with Freeradius

This thread has been viewed 3 times
  • 1.  IAP -- WPA-Enterprise with Freeradius

Posted Mar 26, 2014 01:39 PM

Hi, 

I am a Radius newbie - so please excuse stupid questions / just skip this thread. 

I quickly read through O'Reilly's Freeradius book - it helped already but I still have problems to understand some links.

(1) In my FreeRadius I would like to define a "client" section for one exact IP - which should be the origin of the Radius requests.

But the requests seem to originate from each AP with the respective IP.

What I tried: In the definition of the external Radius I filled out the NAS-IP-Address. I also gave the VC a fixed IP.

I did not: change the "termination" setting nor define any radius proxy settings.

(I did not fully understand the difference between proxy and non-proxy: I though the virtual controller acts like a single NAS already? In a proxy based setup does the virtual controller act as a proxy for each of his IAPs - what is the difference?)

(2) In the VC dashboard I would like to display cleartext names sent back be Radius answer. (The login name is a member-ID and I would prefer to see the associated cleartext name from my database). Ist that possible?

(X) are there any example setups (showing both sides - the Instant settings and the fitting Freeradius configs?

Thanks in advance

Thomas

• 2.  RE: IAP -- WPA-Enterprise with Freeradius

Posted Mar 26, 2014 01:48 PM