Controllerless Networks

Reply
MVP
Posts: 778
Registered: ‎03-25-2009

IAP autojoin mode - how?

I cannot seem to find in the manual the exact method the IAP uses to find the other AP's (specifically the Virtual Controller one).

 

So my question is: how do they try to find the VC?  Is it the same as a normal AP does to find the master controller (config, dhcp, adp, dns)?

Looking for this info as my IAP's will need to connect over a layer3 network. If dns is one of the methods, what name does it try to resolve?

Koen (ACMX #351 | ACDX #547 | ACCP)

-- Found something helpful, important, or cool? Click the Kudos Star in a post.
-- Problem Solved? Click "Accept as Solution" in a post.
Aruba Employee
Posts: 571
Registered: ‎04-17-2009

Re: IAP autojoin mode - how?

I don't believe that is possible. It was my understanding that they all needed to be on the same layer 2 network.
Thanks,

Zach Jennings
MVP
Posts: 778
Registered: ‎03-25-2009

Re: IAP autojoin mode - how?

http://www.arubanetworks.com/pdf/technology/TB_Aruba-Instant.pdf

 

"Up to 16 Aruba Instant APs can be configured per Layer 2 subnet, or Virtual Controller group, and enterprises can have as many subnets or Virtual Controller systems as needed on a campus or in a building."

 

Bit dubious way to put it, but I'm affraid you might be right. :smileysad:

 

Koen (ACMX #351 | ACDX #547 | ACCP)

-- Found something helpful, important, or cool? Click the Kudos Star in a post.
-- Problem Solved? Click "Accept as Solution" in a post.
Aruba Employee
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎09-27-2010

Re: IAP autojoin mode - how?

Once you configure your first Instant AP, all Instant APs that connect to that layer2 segment will automatically discover the existing configured iAP and join the instance. All instant APs in the instance must reside on the same Layer2 segment for management. 

 

Now - if you're dealing with multiple groups of instant APs, you can do automatic discovery of AirWave by defining option 60 in DHCP. You can find more info about this in the user guide under 'Airwave Integration and Management'. 

-joshua
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-12-2012

Re: IAP autojoin mode - how?

Hi all,

 

about virtual controller, i have 4 IAP 105 operating in a virtual controller. I'm trying to add 2 more 105 IAP and when i connect the first one in the wired network it cant join in the virtual controller. I get some strange log messagens showing "fwd-mode:0 mesh":

 

asap_send_elected_master: sent successfully
wait for stm to initialize over
asap_send_elected_master: sent successfully
User: asap_send_elected_master: sent successfully
vap aruba000 vlan is 0. fwd-mode:0 mesh
RESTARTING ALL TX
asap_send_elected_master: sent successfully
asap_send_elected_master: sent successfully

 

Is this the right mode to join in the virtual controller?

 

what can be happening? (I'm newer with this products)

 

See the entire attached log file. 

Thank you!

Moderator
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎10-14-2011

Re: IAP autojoin mode - how?

If you have 4 IAPs already up, then one of them is the master virtual controller (VC). Couple of things ot check:

 

- make sure the autojoin settings are enabled under the settings/advanced tab

- make sure the 2 new IAPs are in the same VLAN (subnet) as the ones you have set up already.

 

trying to figure out where to look for the logs as I don't see an attachment.

 

thanks,

Shashi

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-12-2012

Re: IAP autojoin mode - how?

Hi Sassy, thanks for your fast replay.

 

Check for autojoin in these two Acess Points?

 

Yes, they are in the same vlan (subnet).

 

Thanks again,

Moderator
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎10-14-2011

Re: IAP autojoin mode - how?

Check Auto join mode is enabled on the virtual controller as shown in the attachment.

I don't see anything unsual in the logs except for the "asap mode disabled :." It appears that the master was detected by this IAP. I will follow up on that.

 

Are they all IAP 105?

 

 

 

 

Moderator
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎10-14-2011

Re: IAP autojoin mode - how?

I just verified that the "asap mode disabled" message in the log refers to the Autojoin mode being disabled. Please connect to the UI of the virtual controller and check the settings as I described in the doc.

 

I hope this fixes the issue.

 

thanks,

Shashi

Moderator
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎08-29-2012

Re: IAP autojoin mode - how?

Look like a country code issue. Can you send me the output of summary from the virtual controller and the IAP that has issue?

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: