Controllerless Networks

last person joined: 2 days ago 

Instant Mode - the controllerless Wi-Fi solution that's easy to set up, is loaded with security and smarts, and won't break your budget
Expand all | Collapse all

IAP setup when wires are not available

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  IAP setup when wires are not available

Posted Mar 10, 2014 04:02 PM

Hi all,

I am new to Aruba and could use some help in understading exactly what is going on with the access points i setup in a lab that will eventually go to production.

Wireless proposal

The above depicts (I know mspaint) what we are trying to do. This will be going into a place that has no option for the end two IAP-105s to have a hard wire back to the switch..In this instance I am looking for the 5Ghz to connect the 2 AP's on the end to right to the IAP-105 in the middle. In the lab they are automatically making that connection but I am seeing poor performance, constant disconnects. Is there a preferred method for this setup? Again the 2 IAP-105s on the end cannot have cables going to them.

• 2.  RE: IAP setup when wires are not available

Posted Mar 10, 2014 04:21 PM

This is possible; however, wired connectivity is best from a performance perspective.  

Generally, we Mesh on the 5GHz radio then do client access on the 2.4GHz radio.   As such, your client performance on the unwired APs will be dependant on the quality of the Mesh link between the unwired AP (Mesh Point) and the wired AP (Mesh Point).   If they are too far away, have RF obstructions, or you have a high noise-floor performace will suffer until those issues are resolved.

Also, per your picture, are you doing "multi-hop" such that the AP on the far right hops through the un-wired AP in the middle to reach the wired AP?   When you do this performance can suffer.....avoid multi-hop if possible.

Last, how are the APs mounted?  Are they ceiling mounted point down to the floor? What version are you running?