Controllerless Networks

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎03-15-2014

Iap upgrade

Hi,
Attempted to upgrade Aruba Iap from 6.3.1.4 to 6.4.0.3.
Upgrade showed as completed successfully.
However, Out of 10 access points only 6 joined the vc.
I have a second site to upgrade with 102 aps and I am concerned the same thing will occur.
Additionally, all access points show as down in airwaves.
VC shows as being connected to airwave.
Any thought on what would cause this or steps to troubleshoot?
Thanks.
MVP
Posts: 4,309
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Iap upgrade

Are all your IAPs the same type ?
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎03-15-2014

Re: Iap upgrade

[ Edited ]
Yes, Iap 225 centuarus.
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎03-15-2014

Re: Iap upgrade

Two things: first I would like to remotely reboot the switch. 2nd I think there could be competing master APs. How could I verify this?
MVP
Posts: 4,309
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Iap upgrade

[ Edited ]

You can only verify this through the AP console or running the show log system 

Screen Shot 2014-05-22 at 9.45.48 AM.png

Do you know if the other IAPs may be using port e1 instead of e0 ?

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎03-15-2014

Re: Iap upgrade

I don't believe the are in eth1 only. I can double check or even pull eth1
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎03-15-2014

Re: Iap upgrade

Victor you are the man.

The failing access points were connected via only eth1 and not eth0.

We connected via eth0 and we are back in business.

 

Now the only issue at this site is that airwave recognizes the VC but does not show the Access Points as being up.

 

Since upgrading would we need to change any settings in Airwave to allow those guys to show as online?

 

Thanks.

MVP
Posts: 4,309
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Iap upgrade

If the VC is showing up in Airwave those should eventually come up..those are seeing from the VC perspective not individually
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎03-15-2014

Re: Iap upgrade

Airwave is showing an incorrect Acess Point as VC.

All access points in the VC show as being down.

This has been occurring since Monday Afternoon.

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎03-15-2014

Re: Iap upgrade

Found this in the forums.

http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Aruba-Instant-Cloud-Wi-Fi/An-update-failed-last-night-and-this-morning-AirWave-lists-all/m-p/210937/highlight/true#M7898

 

We will most likely need to upgrade Airwave from 7.7 to 8.x

 

VC is now on 6.4

 

Thanks.

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: