Controllerless Networks

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-14-2016

Joining IAP 104 to IAP 315 cluster

Hi all,

 

We created a new IAP 315 Instant cluster with 6 access points. All is well there. The issue we are running into when trying to join older IAP 104’s to the new IAP 315 Instant network in a “class mismatch”. The IAP 315’s are on the 6.5.0.0-4.3.0.0_56428 Hercules firmware whereas the 104’s are on 6.4.4.6-4.2.4.0_55341 Orion. From what I understand the firmware version numbers have the match, so we need a 6.5.0.0-4.3.0.0_56428 Orion firmware. I could not find this firmware on the Aruba support site, the latest ones are the 6.4 series, there is no 6.5 on there at all. Any suggestions on how to proceed?

 

Aruba Employee
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎02-14-2013

Re: Joining IAP 104 to IAP 315 cluster

Starting from Instant 6.5.0.0-4.3.0.0, the following 802.11n IAPs are not supported: 
IAP-104 and IAP-105
RAP-3WN and RAP-3WNP
IAP-134 and IAP-135
IAP-175

 

Attached Release Notes of 6.5.0.0-4.3.0.0

Thanks,
Rajaguru Vincent
CWNA | CWSP | CWAP | CWDP | ACMP
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-14-2016

Re: Joining IAP 104 to IAP 315 cluster

Hi Vincent,

 

That is unfortunate. Since the 315's are absolutely brand new to the market we did not know what version of firmware it would come it (and that it would be incompatible with IAP 104). Do you have options?

(1) Can we downgrade the firmware on 315 to a matching version that will work with 104?

(2) Can the 104s's form a separate cluster on the same subnet as the 315s?

 

Regards,

Jaiwant.

Aruba Employee
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎02-14-2013

Re: Joining IAP 104 to IAP 315 cluster

Hi Jaiwant, 

 

The minimum software version supported by IAP 315 is 4.3.0.0 as you can find it in the data sheet below.

http://www.arubanetworks.com/assets/ds/DS_AP310Series.pdf


So, we cannot downgrade the 315s below 4.3 or upgrade 104s to 4.3. You need to use them on separate clusters. 

 

Thanks,
Rajaguru Vincent
CWNA | CWSP | CWAP | CWDP | ACMP
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-14-2016

Re: Joining IAP 104 to IAP 315 cluster

Ok .. thanks. Can we create separate clusters (one for 104 and one for 315) on the same subnet?
Aruba Employee
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎02-14-2013

Re: Joining IAP 104 to IAP 315 cluster

No, we cannot. We need them on separate subnets / VLANs to create separate cluster. 

 

Thanks,
Rajaguru Vincent
CWNA | CWSP | CWAP | CWDP | ACMP
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: