Controllerless Networks

Reply
MVP
Posts: 341
Registered: ‎04-25-2013

Mesh With IAP 275

Dear all,

I want use IAP 275 in the outdoor and I want use the mesh for the backhaul,

Is there any one that tries it before?

Is it recommended or not 

Raouf CHAHBOUNE
ICT Network & Security Engineer
CCNP R/S | CCNA Security | ACMP|ACDX



[If my post is helpful please give kudos, or mark as solved if it answers your post.]
Aruba
Posts: 1,644
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Re: Mesh With IAP 275

There is currently no Instant version of the 275.   It is forthcoming.

------------------------------------------------
Systems Engineer, Northeast USA
ACCX | ACDX | ACMX

Moderator
Posts: 681
Registered: ‎04-16-2009

Re: Mesh With IAP 275

Additionally, the 275, currently, does not support Mesh.  Mesh will be available in the middle of the year.

Regular Contributor I
Posts: 190
Registered: ‎04-27-2009

Re: Mesh With IAP 275

HI ,

 

IAP275 is now avialable, what about Mesh , is this working now finally ?

 

Regarding IAP275 and PPPOE uplink , i want to create a 2x IAP275 cluster where one of those IAP275 is the uplink with connected PPPOE modem , the other one is added via Mesh . I checked the PPPOE guide and it seems the PPPOE is priorized and if not available it tries getting dhcp ip adress. while the connected DSL modem is only offering PPPOE dialup , how the InstantAP reacts when the PPPOE link is temporary not available, does it chooses piper adress , or does it periodically rebooting ,

 

im asking cause the cluster is far away and if pppoe is not available temporary im lost if the IAP doesnt reboot periodacally to dialup again if it stays on dhcp-piper adress. anyone tested this setup once ?

 

thanks

ben

Moderator
Posts: 681
Registered: ‎04-16-2009

Re: Mesh With IAP 275

Unfortunately mesh on the 802.11ac APs will not be available till around Q4CY.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-12-2014

Re: Mesh With IAP 275

SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

SUMREAMLY ANNOYING WHY RELEASE APRODUCT THAT IS NOT FULLY FUNCTIONAL

 

SURLEY A MANGMENT DEAD LINE TO MARKET AND THE CUSTOMERS SUFFER

 

Moderator
Posts: 681
Registered: ‎04-16-2009

Re: Mesh With IAP 275

Aruba does its best to state what features are available at launch.  In the 275s case (plus other 802.11ac APs) mesh was not available.  As such, it is stated in the products Technical Sepcifications sheet that Mesh would be available at a later date.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-12-2014

Re: Mesh With IAP 275

Again a rush to market. sure sounds like" hey not our fault you didn't read the documents more closley"

It's rediculous to release a product of that class with out mesh.
It was a rush to market and a bad business decsion.

Sent from my HTC
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-27-2014

Re: Mesh With IAP 275

I Agree,

 

I don't beleive the orginal specifications stated that meshing was not available! I read it in the firmware notes (when i was trying to mesh two IAP-224's). There was nothing on the Aruaba page which made it CLEAR meshing was not supported. It may have been documented but not even our supplier was aware of the limitation untill i called them!

 

Here is what the spec documents state:

 

Wireless mesh*
-Wireless mesh connections are convenient where

Ethernet drops are not available.

*Available Q3 2014 

 

 

Also why would you realease a product such as the 274  without mesh support which is more or less designed for backhaul and access. Does not make sense Aruba! I currently have two 274's  and another two 224's sitting on my desk which are currently giant paperweights :(

 

MVP
Posts: 729
Registered: ‎12-01-2010

Re: Mesh With IAP 275

The 275 is an excellent solution for two of our AP needs - simplifying cabling, mounting and AP-temperature control in our freezers.

We're quite happy they "rushed to market"

 

I do agree that the meshing issue could have been more clearly communicated, but am stil lhappy to have the AP earlier rather than having to wait for all features to be baked in.

 

--Matthew

if I've helped, please give kudos
if I've provided a solution, please mark the solution so others can find it
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: