Controllerless Networks

Occasional Contributor II

Trouble with 205's dropping out

I am new to Aruba so some of this maybe easy. I have a small wifi network configuration setup, but it is giving me big headaches. There is a 205H and a 205 on the system. The 205 has been acting erratically. I noticed looking at the system through inssider that there were three MAC addresses being broadcast. Two for the 205H, one for each spectrum, but only one for the 205 which was handling both spectrum's is this normal? To me it looked as though it was continously switching back and forth. The second issue is that when I have the two AP's running all of the client's attach themselves to the 205H, even though the 205 is much closer. The final issue I am having is that both AP's drop off the network at different times. Is there an issue with having these two types of AP's on the same system?

Re: Trouble with 205's dropping out

How many SSIDs are you broadcasting?

Are these IAPs part of a Cluster ?

What's the current Min/Max power(EIRP) under the RF settings set to ?

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA

I am only broadcasting one SSID.

They are the only two IAP's on the system.

Min is set to 18

Max is set to Max

Guru Elite

Do you have both wired and wireless clients on the same VLAN?

Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Yes they are on the same VLAN

Guru Elite

Okay:

Edit your WLAN and under Advanced, Turn Broadcast filtering to ARP.  That will drop wasteful and performance impacting broadcasts that wired clients emanate as well as do proxy ARP for your wireless clients:

iap-broadcast-filter-arp.png