Controllerless Networks

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-21-2013

Using RAP-2 with "instant" (without mobility controller)???

Hello, more N00b questions please.

 

For my lab/research, I need to test a RAP-2. At this time I don't have a mobility controller, only using instant. Is there a way to provision RAP-2 through instant?

 

Thank you

Aruba
Posts: 1,644
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Re: Using RAP-2 with "instant" (without mobility controller)???

No, the RAP-2 does not support Instant capabilities.   A controller is required.

------------------------------------------------
Systems Engineer, Northeast USA
ACCX | ACDX | ACMX

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-21-2013

Re: Using RAP-2 with "instant" (without mobility controller)???

Thanks a lot Clembo.

 

Are there "software only" controler versions (virtualized for example) for labs or do I need to get a physical box? Any advice on the very small scale (handful of AP at most)?

 

Cheers

Aruba
Posts: 1,644
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Re: Using RAP-2 with "instant" (without mobility controller)???

no,unfortunately not.   there are branch office controllers (650; 620 being phased out), but it may not suit your lab budget needs.   Also, the 650 will run the latest code, but does not support some features; airgroup, appRF, IF-MAP, and AP image preload.

------------------------------------------------
Systems Engineer, Northeast USA
ACCX | ACDX | ACMX

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-21-2013

Re: Using RAP-2 with "instant" (without mobility controller)???

Last question on this, promised :)

 

Is the controller needed for setup/provisioning/MACD only or is it needed to maintain some sort of heartbeat? In other terms can I get by with borrowing one for a day, or do I need one during the entire trial?

 

thank you

Aruba
Posts: 1,644
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Re: Using RAP-2 with "instant" (without mobility controller)???

[ Edited ]

Depends on how you are setting it up and what you are looking to trial.   It is possible to setup a RAP against a controller initially and then not require the controller after provisioning it, but it wouldn't be much of a trial from a functionality standpoint.  

 

It would be possible to configure it with a virtual AP that is in bridged mode and where the Remote-AP Operation mode is "backup".   The backup setting means the SSID will be available only when the RAP cannot contact its controller.  The caveat is the SSID needs to be open or PSK based.

 

It would be similar to setting up a "hotel mode ssid" for RAPs.  The following summarizes that setup:

https://arubanetworkskb.secure.force.com/pkb/articles/HowTo/R-32

 

 

------------------------------------------------
Systems Engineer, Northeast USA
ACCX | ACDX | ACMX

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-21-2013

Re: Using RAP-2 with "instant" (without mobility controller)???

I lied, here is one more question:

I have an opportunity to receive a 2400 for my lab, no idea what firmware version it runs but I have to think somewhat outdated. Any concerns with using it with the RAP-2 and with an AP-175? Minimal firmware levels, etc? I am not trying to do anything too complicated at this point. In the future I'd like to explore QoS/CAC for Lync, but that's not my first step.

Thank you

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,269
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Using RAP-2 with "instant" (without mobility controller)???

The 2400 is end of sale, so I wouldn't use it.

 

The certificate-based auth that a RAP2 would need to do RAP...the 2400 is not capable of it, so a RAP2 would not work with it.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: