Controllerless Networks

last person joined: 2 days ago 

Instant Mode - the controllerless Wi-Fi solution that's easy to set up, is loaded with security and smarts, and won't break your budget
Expand all | Collapse all

What would the STA do before send data to AP?

This thread has been viewed 1 times
  • 1.  What would the STA do before send data to AP?

Posted May 01, 2015 05:57 AM

Hi guys,

I'm a newbie here, and I  have a silly questions about what would the STA do before send data to AP.

I had 2 theories about it:

1.The STA will wait a pried of time which the duration tell it to wait.When NAV  is equal to 0, then starts the random back-off time and assesses the medium.

Finally,when random back-off time is equal to 0 and there is no medium in the air, then sends the data to AP.

2.The random back-off time and the NAV work independently. every time the random back-off time is equal to 0,the STA will check the virtual carrier sense and physical carrier sense. If the virtual carrier sense said you had to wait a DIFS or the physical carrier sense said there was some medium in the air, then then random back-off time would reset and double its time.

I wish the first theory was right, because if the second one was right, then the random back-off time would do a lot of useless works. Why they wouldn't just hold there and wait the NAV finished first?

If I posted the wrong place, please tell me.

• 2.  RE: What would the STA do before send data to AP?
    Best Answer

Posted May 04, 2015 08:22 AM

HI,

Yes, it will start the RBT decrementing once the NAV timer reaches Zero.

here is how it works,

1. When a client wins the medium, it will send RTS with DID (Duration id, Approx time it want to hold the medium)

2. All other clients those are in the same BSA will set their NAV time equal to DID and decrement by one for every slot time. (Which is called the Virtual carrier sensing )