Controllerless Networks

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-10-2015

Why my IAP-228 don't broadcast SSID ?

Hi all,

We have around twenty of IAP-228 with AP-ANT-35 installed at one of our clients.

We have a problem with one AP which not seems to broadcast the SSID configured.
- This AP is powered by Aruba power-injector, like others.

I attach the "show tech support & tech support supp" at this post.

Hope this thread will help us.

 

Regards,
Jeremy

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,517
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Why my IAP-228 don't broadcast SSID ?

[ Edited ]

Edit:  I would check the power injector or the cabling:

 

Power Status
------------
Operational State          POE-AF: Ethernet port 1 disabled; All radios disabled;
-----------------          ------------------------------------------------------
Current HW State           POE-AF: Ethernet port 1 disabled; All radios disabled;
LLDP Negotiated POE Power  0.0W

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

MVP
Posts: 1,404
Registered: ‎11-07-2008

Re: Why my IAP-228 don't broadcast SSID ?

Saw same thing. Cable or injector, there's no detected 802.3at (802.3at is a requirement for this model). Try new cables and a new power injector if you are sure your injector is 802.3at compliant. 

Jerrod Howard
Sr. Techical Marketing Engineer
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-10-2015

Re: Why my IAP-228 don't broadcast SSID ?

This AP is connected to a NETGEAR GS748T (netgear... yes.....). There are 4 IAP-228 connected to this switch, and this is the only AP with which we meet this problem.

Thank for your advices, this confirming a default at cabling level.

I will check both uplink and the Poe Injector and I will keep you informed next week.


Thank you a lot again,

Jeremy

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-10-2015

Re: Why my IAP-228 don't broadcast SSID ?

Hi all,

 

I found the solution for this AP!

The problem was the uplink cable : it was connected to a small switch (8ports, non-manageable) and this seems to provoke the error message you raised :

Power Status
------------
Operational State          POE-AF: Ethernet port 1 disabled; All radios disabled;
-----------------          ------------------------------------------------------
Current HW State           POE-AF: Ethernet port 1 disabled; All radios disabled;
LLDP Negotiated POE Power  0.0W

Then, I connected the AP on another plug (connected on another switch) and the AP booted correctly and now broadcast correctly the SSIDs configured on the VC (so the PoE injectors were not involved).

 

 

We have similar problem in another area on the same site.

There are few IAP-228 (4-5 on 12 in this area) which seem to have the same problem ; I found the same error message in the "show tech-support".

 

However, the network environment is not the same :

All the 12 IAPs are fixed at about 25 meters of the distribution switch (it's a ProCurve Switch 2520-8-PoE).

The data link is connected to switch and PoE injector and the Power+Data link (outgoing from the PoE injector) is connected to the IAP.

 

I tried to disable the poe on the switch ports, but it didn't fixed the problem.

 

Do you have an idea of workaround?

 

 

Thank per advance for your help

 

 

 

Best regards, 

Jeremy

 

 

 

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-10-2015

Re: Why my IAP-228 don't broadcast SSID ?

Could anyone help me on this issue ?

 

I don't have any idea even for troubleshooting...

 

 

Thanks per advance

 

Jeremy

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,517
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Why my IAP-228 don't broadcast SSID ?

Did you try replacing the cable?



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

MVP
Posts: 1,404
Registered: ‎11-07-2008

Re: Why my IAP-228 don't broadcast SSID ?

What is the power injector model? If you console in to the AP with the included USB cable (you can find the USB drivers on support.arubanetworks.com), what is the output of the AP console when one of these tries to boot up?

Jerrod Howard
Sr. Techical Marketing Engineer
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: