Controllerless Networks

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-19-2012

how to change IP of Instant93

[ Edited ]

I try changing the IP adress of my Instant93 through CLI.  I telnet to the ap and send the following commands

config

setenv ipaddr 10.0.1.255

exit wr mem

exit

But it does not work.Is there any suggestion?

Thank you guys so much

Moderator
Posts: 681
Registered: ‎04-16-2009

Re: how to change IP of Instant93

You are in the bootloader which is way before the IAP SW loads. 

 

Configuration in Instant is intened to be done via the WebUI.  To change the IP address of the Instant VC in the WebUI go to Settings > General > Virtual Controller IP.

 

You can also go in via the console port or Telnet after enabling "Terminal Access" and set the VC IP using the CLI command "virtual-controller-ip <addr>

 

9-19-2012 10-19-45 PM.jpg

Moderator
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎08-29-2012

Re: how to change IP of Instant93

The virtual IP address is assign to the Instant Cluster. The IP address will be active on the Virtual Controller.

 

If you want to change the IP address on a specific IAP.

 

1. Select the IAP -> Click on Edit -> Click on "Specify Statically" then fill in the IP Address, Subnet , Gateway, DNS in the text box

2. Reboot the IAP

 

IAP-Static-IP.png

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-19-2012

Re: how to change IP of Instant93

Thanks for your reply. Marcus. But what I want to change is the master address. Is there any suggestion

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-19-2012

Re: how to change IP of Instant93

Yes, this is what I want to change. But I need to change it through CLI. Is there any way to do it?

Moderator
Posts: 681
Registered: ‎04-16-2009

Re: how to change IP of Instant93


jerrymoney wrote:

Thanks for your reply. Marcus. But what I want to change is the master address. Is there any suggestion


In Instant Virtual Controller (VC) = Master.  I listed the syntax to change the VC IP in my first post. By hard-setting this address whomever is acting to the VC will respond on that IP.

 

The CLI is not officially supported in Instant and there is no published CLI reference guide.  The WebUI is the best way.

 

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-19-2012

Re: how to change IP of Instant93

Thanks Marcus. It works!! Great!

Another question: Is the net mask available to be changed through CLI?

Retired Employee
Posts: 234
Registered: ‎04-19-2011

Re: how to change IP of Instant93

All the configuration for the IAP should be done via the Web UI.
--
HT
Guru Elite
Posts: 8,759
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: how to change IP of Instant93

[ Edited ]

<edit> old post


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-26-2016

Re: how to change IP of Instant93

For changing the Instant Virtual controller IP, CLI,

 

Try:

- connect with ssh or console to AP

- configure

- virtual-controller-ip xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

- exit

- wri mem

 

Worked for me

 

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: