Controllerless Networks

last person joined: yesterday 

Instant Mode - the controllerless Wi-Fi solution that's easy to set up, is loaded with security and smarts, and won't break your budget
Expand all | Collapse all

new iaps does not show up

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  new iaps does not show up

Posted Sep 22, 2016 05:49 PM

I am new to the Aruba ecosystem.

I have a network of 19 Aruba APs.

There are 13 IAP-105

There are 3 IAP-135

There are 3 IAP-215

the Instant dashboard shows all the older 105s and 135s.  The 105s and 135s were previously installed before I got involved.  The new 215s do not show up.  I can locate them on the network using DHCP and I can ping them.  However I have no idea how the Aruba IAP system locates new APs and adds them to the network.  I have already checked that "Auto Join" is enabled.  I called Tech Support, but the guy who attempted to answer the question told me I needed to upgrade the 215 firmware using TFTP before they would join the cluster.  Why should i have to upgrade the firmware on a new AP right out of the box to connect it to my network?  regardless, I don't know where to start.

When I go into the Maintenance area and look for firmware version, it states that I am running 6.3.1.4.4.0.0.5.  

If I do a "new version search", it tells me that version 6.4.2.6.4.1.3.0 is available for download.

• 2.  RE: new iaps does not show up

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Sep 22, 2016 07:49 PM

The minimum version needed for AP-215 to run is 4.1.1.0:

41110.png

http://www.arubanetworks.com/assets/ds/DS_AP210Series.pdf

I would go to the link here: http://support.arubanetworks.com/LifetimeWarrantySoftware/tabid/121/DMXModule/661/Default.aspx?EntryId=21998 and upgrade your old devices to 4.2.3.2.  Next, upgrade your new 215s to 4.2.3.2 and then add them to the cluster.

• 3.  RE: new iaps does not show up

Posted Sep 23, 2016 12:21 AM
    • The link to download the software gives me the following message: