Controllerless Networks

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎08-09-2016

stacking in 2930F

[ Edited ]

does Aruba 2930F support stacking...

If yes How many switches can we stack...

MVP
Posts: 4,301
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: stacking in 2930F

[ Edited ]

<EDIT>

Get Outlook for iOS

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-28-2016

Re: stacking in 2930F

[ Edited ]

Really?

 

Which type of "Stacking" support is required?

 

Are we speaking here about just simple "Stacking Management" [*] or what else [**]?

 

If we are speaking about "Stacking Management", the provided answer is OK.

 

If we aren't...well, the Aruba 2930F simply can't form (or be part of) any Stack apart the "Stacking Management" above.

 

[**] Questions above are due because...asking about generic "Stacking support"...can be unrelated to "Stacking Management" and can instead be related to "Frontplane Stacking" as per VSF (ProVision/ArubaOS-Switch), IRF (as in Comware based Switches, not this case) or "Backplane Stacking" as with specific Stacking Modules and Stacking Cables (as happens, as example, on the Aruba 2920 or on the Aruba 3810)...so it's important to clarify/distinguish which type of stacking the OP is really speaking about.

 

[*] Stacking Management: using a single IP Address and a standard network cabling to manage a group (generally, up to 16) of Switches in the same IP subnet (Broadcast Domain), resulting in a reduced number of IP Addresses required and in a simplified management of small groups of Switches.

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,637
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: stacking in 2930F

The 2930F does not support stacking today.

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-28-2016

Re: stacking in 2930F

Exactly.

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-23-2017

Re: stacking in 2930F

According HPE ArubaOS-Switch Software Feature Support Matrix 16.03 from January 2017 , VSF is supported on 2930F

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-28-2016

Re: stacking in 2930F

Yep, it was initially announced in late 2016 but, until 16.03 very recent release, VSF on Aruba 2930F wasn't really available as frontplane stacking feature.

Aruba Employee
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-23-2015

Re: stacking in 2930F

The Aruba 2930F Switch Series now supports VSF Stacking of up to 4 units. This is available starting with the 16.03.0003 software release which is available from the usual download locations or use this link:

 

https://h10145.www1.hpe.com/downloads/SoftwareReleases.aspx?ProductNumber=JL253A

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-16-2017

Re: stacking in 2930F

[ Edited ]

Hi, is it that this switch does not have any dedicated stacking bandwidth? 

 

If it does how much is it?

Aruba Employee
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-23-2015

Re: stacking in 2930F

[ Edited ]

The 2930F Switches use VSF stacking on any of the ethernet ports on the switch. Up to 4 10G ports can be used as a VSF stacking link or up to 8 1G ports can be used as a VSF stacking link.

 

You will typically want to configure 2 VSF stacking links in a ring configuration. Up to 4 switches can make up a VSF stack.

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: