Reply
Contributor I
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎08-20-2009

VisualRF does not see the full list of active access points

We're in the process of commissioning a new installation of AirWave 7.7.9 and are having fun with Visual RF.  
We can successfully load floorplans and are currently placing the APs in the correct locations on those floorplans.  Not a job I want to do twice!

However... we have a situation where one of our (live, active) AP-135s fails to show up in the VisualRF list of deployed devices.

How do we get VisualRF to re-scan the ap-database and (hopefully) find the rest of our APs?

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,029
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: VisualRF does not see the full list of active access points

Does the access point show up in Airwave outside of visualrf?



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor I
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎08-20-2009

Re: VisualRF does not see the full list of active access points

Yes indeed. 

I can extract reports from it, see the number of connected clients and suchlike. 

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,029
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: VisualRF does not see the full list of active access points

There is a button that allows you to hide access points that are already placed. Did you try toggling that? In addition, one of the properties of the access point is where it might be in visualrf (location). See if that property exists.


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor I
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎08-20-2009

Re: VisualRF does not see the full list of active access points

Yes, I've found it; the "Add Deployed Device" dialog has the option to Hide Devices already added to VisualRF.  This shows/hides the APs already laid out on floorplans; devices already laid out are marked as 'banned', available devices are marked as an AP650.  
I've just re-provisioned this AP, rediscovered it with AirWave, (both successfully).  VisualRF continues to ignore this AP.

Contributor I
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎08-20-2009

Re: VisualRF does not see the full list of active access points

Eventually... There's nothing a good old reboot won't cure! (But we had to go to that extent.) Problem cleared.
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: