Reply
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-31-2016

meridian editor : what a "landmark" is ?

[ Edited ]

Hi everyone

i works with the meridian editor

in the placemark's options, i can see a "landmark" option (see attached picture) landmark.PNG

the documentation doesn't tell anything about what a "landmark" is

 

does anyone know this feature ?

 

Best regards

 

Pierre

Aruba Employee
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-24-2016

Re: meridian editor : what a "landmark" is ?

[ Edited ]

Hi Pierre,

 

"LANDMARK" is an old property that was added to placemarks.  It is currently deprecated and not recommended for use any more.  It will be removed from a future version of the editor.

 

Please use the LABEL property to name an area like "Engineering Dept" or "Lobby".

 

 

Tim

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-31-2016

Re: meridian editor : what a "landmark" is ?

[ Edited ]

Thank you Tim

 

Can we say that "landmark" option for placemark is similar to "label" option for area ?

 

Could you please post screen capture that shows each option ?

 

Best regards

 

Pierre

Aruba Employee
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-24-2016

Re: meridian editor : what a "landmark" is ?

[ Edited ]

Hi Pierre,

 

I updated my response from yesterday.  Can you explain what you are trying to accomplish and I will recommend the best approach?  Thanks!

 

Best regards,

Tim

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-31-2016

Re: meridian editor : what a "landmark" is ?

Hello Tim

 

it appears there is an anomaly in the way the android appviewer application displays the maps.

 

Here are two screen capture for the same map.

 

1) on an iphone

The first one is on an iphone device and it is the result i want FOR THIS ZOOM LEVEL

You can see only the

 - the "landmark" placemark (Restaurants)

  - the "label" area (Arènes)

 

2) on an android (samsung galaxy)

You can't see the landmark and the label

you see lower level placemark instead

 

 

 

01-iphone.PNG

 

 

02-android.png

Aruba Employee
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-24-2016

Re: meridian editor : what a "landmark" is ?

Hi Pierre,

 

Yes, sometimes there are differences between the two platforms.  We try to keep the experience the same but the platforms themselves are simply not the same.

 

Our team has filed a support ticket for you.

 

Best regards,

Tim

Aruba Employee
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎11-02-2015

Re: meridian editor : what a "landmark" is ?

Hi Pierre,

 

Our Meridian team has taken a look at your screenshots and determined that this isn't a bug. It's expected behavior for different devices to display the map differently. Even the same device with different resolution settings would display things differently.

 

I hope this helps address your concerns.

 

Cheers,

Shawn

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: