Network Management

last person joined: 18 hours ago 

Keep an informative eye on your network with HPE Aruba Networking network management solutions
Expand all | Collapse all

AirWave 8.2.5: Can I control disk space used by AW server?

This thread has been viewed 16 times
  • 1.  AirWave 8.2.5: Can I control disk space used by AW server?

Posted Dec 19, 2017 08:16 AM

Hi,

I'm new to AW.  Installed it as a VM on my Dell PE T610 server, which has 4 other Windows VMs running.  I allocated 8GB RAM, but only 40GB disk space when I created my AW VM.  It has already consumed the entire 40GB!  Yet I only have 10 devices (1 AP) and 12 clients.  I can't fathom how so much space could get used up so quickly in the 60 days sent I installed AW.  Are there tricks to reduce disk usage?  Maybe I can change the default polling interval that SNMP devices get polled?  Are there any stats as to how much data a single poll of 1 SNMP device consumes?

Are there any system reports that might show how the AW server disk space is being consumed?

TIA,

Mike

• 2.  RE: AirWave 8.2.5: Can I control disk space used by AW server?

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Dec 20, 2017 05:58 AM

Mike,

40GB is by far too low. I run a lab server with 80GB and it has 60GB in use. Realize that Airwave stores a lot of data, especially if you have AMON turned on and send AppRF data.

You can see the disk usage in System -> Performance -> (scroll down) -> Disk Space. Which does not tell where the data goes in, but it is likely to be in the database, in upgrade files, and in backups. You can clean up some of those via the AMPCLI Delete File option.

I would create a backup, spin up a new Airwave with more disk space, and restore the backup there.

Use the Airwave Sizing Calculator in ASE to get an estimate, which even sizes to 113GB disk for my lab size.

• 3.  RE: AirWave 8.2.5: Can I control disk space used by AW server?

Posted Dec 20, 2017 08:19 AM