Network Management

Reply
Contributor II
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎02-22-2011

Airwave not detecting mesh clients

I have 2 APs 175 in a mesh configuration and everything works fine. If I login to the controller I can display the connected users on the Mesh Portal and Mesh Point. However, when I display the APs in Airwave it always have an user status of 0. I'm not sure why the Airwave isn't logging user data for the mesh link.

 

If I click on the Mesh Point AP, it displays the AP being a mesh link and lists the Mesh Portal AP as the uplink, so I think I added the APs in Airwave correctly.

 

Bob

Moderator
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎04-25-2009

Re: Airwave not detecting mesh clients

Are the radios serving clients and also in mesh mode? Or are they dedicated to access mode?

 

 

Contributor II
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎02-22-2011

Re: Airwave not detecting mesh clients

Yes, the A radio that is in mesh mode is also serving the clients. Even though Airwave is displaying the APs as a mesh, the entire mesh configure is not in Airwave for the APs. Like the mesh cluster profile, AP group and etc.. I was going to import the controller configuration into Airwave, and then delete and re-add the APs in Airwave. Do you think that might help? 

 

Also before the I changed the role of the wired AP to a Mesh portal, it was collecting user data fine. 

 

Bob 

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,002
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Airwave not detecting mesh clients

There is a bug in ArubaOS 6.1.3.0 and 1 where if you are monitoring a controller through Airwave that has mesh Aps, it will not show any clients.  Due to be fixed in ArubaOS 6.1.3.2.

 

If you want to open a support case, please do so that they can confirm.

 

Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Validated Reference Design Guides : http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Validated-Reference-Design/tkb-p/Aruba-VRDs
Moderator
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎04-25-2009

Re: Airwave not detecting mesh clients

You should not need to import configuration specifically mesh for AirWave to monitor clients on mesh radios. I think you are running into the limitation that AirWave is not showing client information on mesh radios. I will investigate that and get back to you.

 

Sujatha

 

Contributor II
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎02-22-2011

Re: Airwave not detecting mesh clients

I did import of the Aruba configs and re-added the mesh APs in Airwave,  and you were correct, it didn't make a difference. We are currently running version 7.2.1 of Airwave and 5.0.4.2 on the controllers. Over the summer we will upgrade Airwave to the latest release and probably 6.x on the controllers. If the problem still persists after the upgrade, I can open a support case with Aruba. 

 

Bob 

Moderator
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎04-25-2009

Re: Airwave not detecting mesh clients

Bob:

 

We were able to reproduce the issue on a mesh+access radio and will keep you posted on the fix. I am hoping I should have an answer in a day or two. Thanks for being patient.

 

Sujatha

 

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: