Network Management

Reply
Super Contributor I
Posts: 289
Registered: ‎02-07-2013

Can I install 3rd party MIBS into Airwave

Hi,

When adding a router/switch to our Airwave server, Airwave only supports a limited number of switches. We are an HP site with loads of the HP ProCurve switches which I can select from the list of known devices. However, i'm adding an HP rebadged H3C device (ComWare 7) and I've had to add it as a generic device.  While Airwave talks SNMPv3 to it quite happily, it doesn't recognise the H3C specific MIBS. Can I upload a set of H3C mibs to Airwave to cover this device set?

 

If so, where in Airwave do I upload the MIBs?

 

Rgds

Alex

 

Moderator
Posts: 1,223
Registered: ‎10-16-2008

Re: Can I install 3rd party MIBS into Airwave

Not at this time.  What devices are you looking to poll from AirWave?


Rob Gin
Senior QA Engineer - Network Services
Aruba Networks, a Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company
Super Contributor I
Posts: 289
Registered: ‎02-07-2013

Re: Can I install 3rd party MIBS into Airwave

HP Comware switches which are rebadged H3C devices and therefor have their own MIB tree

Rgds

Alex

Moderator
Posts: 1,223
Registered: ‎10-16-2008

Re: Can I install 3rd party MIBS into Airwave

This should be 2 RFEs:

1) feature request for allowing user to import custom 3rd party MIBs

2) feature request for 3rd party support of HP H3C switches

 

At this time, you can add the switches with the generic router/switch type under device setup -> add.  It will only gather data that's over the common MIB-2 oids.


Rob Gin
Senior QA Engineer - Network Services
Aruba Networks, a Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎09-29-2009

Re: Can I install 3rd party MIBS into Airwave

Hi, 

 

We need monitor (not just ping) intefaces of other brands devices like Fortigate, Extremenetworks, Infoblox and by the way some (by WMI) windows servers.

 

Please help with that be cause more the one monitor (airwave, cacti,spiceworks, etc..) server on the network is not an option isn´t?.

 

Regards.

MVP
Posts: 1,392
Registered: ‎11-30-2011

Re: Can I install 3rd party MIBS into Airwave

have you tried the generic router/switch device type and checked what info gets you then?

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-09-2015

Re: Can I install 3rd party MIBS into Airwave

When I try to autodiscover it or manually add it, it gets rebranded an OfficeConnect switch. It can monitor CPU but I get a lot of SNMP polling errors and the interfaces are not discovered. I have 5900 and 5700s.

 

Recent AMP Device Events (view system event log)
TIME USER EVENT
Tue Oct 18 09:39:22 2016 System Error in SNMP polling: Unknown error(interface_monitor)
Tue Oct 18 09:35:07 2016 System Configuration verification succeeded; configuration is good
Tue Oct 18 09:34:45 2016 System Configuration verification succeeded; configuration is good
Tue Oct 18 09:34:20 2016 System Error in SNMP polling: Unknown error(interface_monitor)
Tue Oct 18 09:34:10 2016 System Status changed to 'OK'
Tue Oct 18 09:34:10 2016 System Up
Tue Oct 18 09:33:42 2016 System Firmware changed to '7.1.045, Release 2422P01 '.
Tue Oct 18 09:33:41 2016 System Converting from device type 'Router/Switch' to 'HPE OfficeConnect Switch'.
Tue Oct 18 09:33:31 2016 user Configuration change submitted
Tue Oct 18 09:33:30 2016 user Authorized
Tue Oct 18 09:33:30 2016 user Created

Moderator
Posts: 1,223
Registered: ‎10-16-2008

Re: Can I install 3rd party MIBS into Airwave

I don't see those switch types under our supported device types.  So unfortunately unless they use the same generic MIB-II OIDs, we might not going to be able to see the port data unless device specific coding is added to map out their MIB tables.  Has a feature request been submitted yet?  That's the best route if adding generic router/switch doesn't do the trick.  Be sure to include device type, model, firmware version, and an SNMP walk of the entire OID table.  From there, the Product team will review.


Rob Gin
Senior QA Engineer - Network Services
Aruba Networks, a Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: