Network Management

Reply
Contributor II
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎04-16-2010

Client Identification in Airwave

We're just rolling out BYOD and have noticed that mobile devices, namely Apple and Android, only display the MAC address in the client details but when I look in DHCP it correctly dispalys the device device name\hostname.

 

First image is the details held in DHCP and the second is what is displayed in Airwave for the same client, is there any way of getting the hostname\device name in DHCP to populate the hostname\device name in Airwave as we want to be able to track devices and know who owns what device without having to go to user documentation.

 

ScreenHunter_136 Jun. 22 10.54.jpg

ScreenHunter_135 Jun. 22 10.52.jpg

Thanks

Guru Elite
Posts: 19,963
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Client Identification in Airwave

[ Edited ]
.
Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Validated Reference Design Guides : http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Validated-Reference-Design/tkb-p/Aruba-VRDs
Guru Elite
Posts: 19,963
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Client Identification in Airwave

If you have a DNS server definited for airwave, it should do a reverse lookup in DNS and populate the hostname parameter http://www.arubanetworks.com/techdocs/AirWave_8_0_Web_Help/UserGuide.htm#AWUserGuide/Chapter2_Config/setup_Display.htm?Highlight=Dns
Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Validated Reference Design Guides : http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Validated-Reference-Design/tkb-p/Aruba-VRDs
Contributor II
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎04-16-2010

Re: Client Identification in Airwave

[ Edited ]

The lookup device is already ticked as yes and the Hostname lifetime was set to 4 hours I've chnaged that to 24.

 

If I try doing a ping -a on the ip address it doesn't resolve back to a hostname.

 

The security on the SSID is PSK WPA2 with MAC auth.

Guru Elite
Posts: 19,963
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Client Identification in Airwave

Does your DHCP server for that subnet publish hostnames to DNS?
Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Validated Reference Design Guides : http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Validated-Reference-Design/tkb-p/Aruba-VRDs
Contributor II
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎04-16-2010

Re: Client Identification in Airwave

It was DHCP it had only been configured to dynamically allow the client to update DNS not DHCP so I've made the change and now all the devices Hostnames have appeared in Airwave.

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: