Network Management

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-27-2016

First installation of AirWave and problem with devices configuration is showing "Unknown"

[ Edited ]

We have been running few small sites with Aruba instant clusters. We just installed AirWave so we could get better monitoring for our networks.

We installed the AirWave and Instant virtual controllers and access points all connected to AirWave without issues.

 

However every device is showing status up and configuration Unknown. Also no data from clients or anything else is coming to AirWave server.

AirWave is on DMZ and ports HTTPS (443) and AMON (8211) is opened from sites to DMZ. Do we need open more ports for just monitoring? Or is the problem something else?

 

Do we need to open any ports from AirWave server to sites where Instant cluster resides?

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,539
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: First installation of AirWave and problem with devices configuration is showing "Unknown&qu

You should only need port 443 inbounds.  Did your devices show up in "New Devices" first?  If yes, what did you do after that?  If you moved them to a folder, you should be able to see users on it, at minimum.

 

Did you also read the guide here?  https://support.arubanetworks.com/Documentation/tabid/77/DMXModule/512/Command/Core_Download/Default.aspx?EntryId=14106



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Moderator
Posts: 1,270
Registered: ‎10-16-2008

Re: First installation of AirWave and problem with devices configuration is showing "Unknown&qu

If you do a tcpdump of https traffic, are you seeing the IAPs contacting the AMP?  Can the AirWave server ping the IPs of the IAPs? (and same for the reverse from the IAPs to AirWave).  You might also check /var/log/pound to make sure that the pound service is catching the IAP traffic.

 

Next steps after that would be to open a support case, and possibly enable additional logging using:

# qlog enable swarm_debug

This logs output into /var/log/amp_diag/swarm_debug


Rob Gin
Senior QA Engineer - Network Services
Aruba Networks, a Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-27-2016

Re: First installation of AirWave and problem with devices configuration is showing "Unknown&am

Yes the devices showed on the "New devices", we then moved them to folder for that site.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-27-2016

Re: First installation of AirWave and problem with devices configuration is showing "Unknown&am

We have only opened https and amon ports, so can't ping the devices from AirWave or vice versa. But if I open ICMP port then offcourse ping works.

Moderator
Posts: 1,270
Registered: ‎10-16-2008

Re: First installation of AirWave and problem with devices configuration is showing "Unknown&am

Looks like you'll probably want to enable the swarm_debug logging from the AMP, and then send the output to support so that they can help analyze and troubleshoot.


Rob Gin
Senior QA Engineer - Network Services
Aruba Networks, a Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-27-2016

Re: First installation of AirWave and problem with devices configuration is showing "Unknown&am

Now it shows configuration Good and I can see clients from different sites. Maybe it just took some time, but it is working now. 

Moderator
Posts: 1,270
Registered: ‎10-16-2008

Re: First installation of AirWave and problem with devices configuration is showing "Unknown&am

That's good news.  It's possible that the Async Logger Client processes got held up and eventually restarted themselves.


Rob Gin
Senior QA Engineer - Network Services
Aruba Networks, a Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: