Network Management

Reply
AFK
Contributor I
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎12-12-2013

HPE switches and AIrwave

In the latest software 16.01 for 2530 switches, there is a command for adding Airwave support to the switch:

 

amp-server ip <AMP server IP address> group 2530 folder 2530 secret secret

 

Has anyone gotten this to work? I have run this command on several 2530 switches, and they do not show up in Airwave. The switch log show these entries:

 

I 02/23/16 13:17:46 05103 dhcp: Device Registration to Airwave failed
I 02/23/16 13:17:46 05101 dhcp: Airwave details configured.

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,464
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: HPE switches and AIrwave

You need to add them in AirWave. 

Sent from Nine

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
AFK
Contributor I
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎12-12-2013

Re: HPE switches and AIrwave

OK, I have done that, but the same message keep appearing in the switch log:

 

I 02/23/16 14:29:47 05103 dhcp: Device Registration to Airwave failed
I 02/23/16 14:28:47 05103 dhcp: Device Registration to Airwave failed
I 02/23/16 14:27:47 05103 dhcp: Device Registration to Airwave failed
I 02/23/16 14:26:47 05103 dhcp: Device Registration to Airwave failed
I 02/23/16 13:26:46 05103 dhcp: Airwave Registration failed.

 

And what can I do with these switches now in Airwave that was not possible before? According to the release notes Airwave now supports ZTP of former Procurve switches. Does that mean that I can push AW group config and overrides to them like with MAS? Do firmware upgrades? Detect config mismatches?

 

Moderator
Posts: 1,252
Registered: ‎10-16-2008

Re: HPE switches and AIrwave

Checking with the QA tester.  In the meantime, what AMP version are you running?


Rob Gin
Senior QA Engineer - Network Services
Aruba Networks, a Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company
AFK
Contributor I
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎12-12-2013

Re: HPE switches and AIrwave

8.0.11

Moderator
Posts: 1,252
Registered: ‎10-16-2008

Re: HPE switches and AIrwave

Looks like your version of AirWave doesn't have the newly added HPE switch support.  HPE switch support for that firmware is in AirWave 8.2 (currently in BETA testing stage).  Approximation for AirWave 8.2 release would be March/April timeframe.


Rob Gin
Senior QA Engineer - Network Services
Aruba Networks, a Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company
AFK
Contributor I
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎12-12-2013

Re: HPE switches and AIrwave

Thank you, Rob.

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: