Network Management

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎08-09-2012

No Results from Health/Ch Utilization Overlay in Airwave Visual RF

I have a question about the VisualRF feature in Airwave.

 

I have Airwave 7.7.5 installed. When I go to Visual RF and click the 'Health' or Ch Utilization check box, I don't see any results.

 

When I click the other options(Heatmap, Sensor Coverage, Speed,) the results appear without delay.

 

However, if I select 'Health' or 'Ch. Utilization' , the floor plan appears. But, I don't see any results/stats. Just a floor drawing showing the APs.

 

I have both APs and Spectrum Sensors enabled in our environment. What do I need to configure to see 'Health' and 'Ch. Utilization' in VisualRF

 

 

Anthony
MVP
Posts: 4,307
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: No Results from Health/Ch Utilization Overlay in Airwave Visual RF

[ Edited ]

 

You need AMON turned on 

 

Please read this thread:

 

http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Community-Tribal-Knowledge-Base/Why-you-should-always-enable-AMON-on-your-Aruba-Controller-when/ta-p/72104

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎08-09-2012

Re: No Results from Health/Ch Utilization Overlay in Airwave Visual RF

Thanks for the info.

 

I checked the document. I see that the steps to configure apply to OS 6.3.0.1 ONLY.

 

Currently, I have 6.2.1.4 installed on a 3400 series controller. Is it possible to enable AMON on a 3400 series controller?

 

Will the same commands apply?

Anthony
MVP
Posts: 4,307
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: No Results from Health/Ch Utilization Overlay in Airwave Visual RF

[ Edited ]

 

AMON works on 6.2 as well

 

It should be the same commands

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Moderator
Posts: 1,270
Registered: ‎10-16-2008

Re: No Results from Health/Ch Utilization Overlay in Airwave Visual RF

In 6.2, the difference is that there's no mgmt-server profiles.  So the command is shortened to:
# mgmt-server type amp primary-server <ip.address>

This enables AMON for all topics that were available during that release.

 

In 6.3, the concept of profiles was created since the data can now be pointed to either and AirWave or ALE server.


Rob Gin
Senior QA Engineer - Network Services
Aruba Networks, a Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎08-09-2012

Re: No Results from Health/Ch Utilization Overlay in Airwave Visual RF

Thanks for the info and assistance.

 

One last question. When I apply the change to the wireless controller, will the wireless user be impacted? Will the change cause the controller or APs to restart or drop in end user wireless connectivity? 

 

 

Anthony
Moderator
Posts: 1,270
Registered: ‎10-16-2008

Re: No Results from Health/Ch Utilization Overlay in Airwave Visual RF

[ Edited ]

Users would not be impacted.  APs will not be rebooted.  This is only a communication to AirWave level change.  So instead of being solely SNMP (polling and traps), you're also going to be getting data over AMON.  Don't forget to double check your firewall as AMON is UDP packets over port 8211.


Rob Gin
Senior QA Engineer - Network Services
Aruba Networks, a Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: