Network Management

last person joined: yesterday 

Keep an informative eye on your network with HPE Aruba Networking network management solutions
Expand all | Collapse all

SNMP get failure from Airwave to 3600 controller

This thread has been viewed 24 times
  • 1.  SNMP get failure from Airwave to 3600 controller

Posted Mar 14, 2013 01:20 PM

Hi everyone--i'm new to Airwave and Aruba in general, so forgive my ignorance on this.  I'm trying to add a controller to a demo environment of Airwave I've got setup and I keep getting SNMP get failed messages...I checked the string on the controller and it matches what i've got in Airwave.  what else am i missing?  i was able to add a controller from one of our other locations a while ago with no issue.

• 2.  RE: SNMP get failure from Airwave to 3600 controller

Posted Mar 14, 2013 01:41 PM

If u get SNMP failed errors  check the following:

What ArubaOS version are u using | what AirWave version are u using?

check icmp (simple ping) connectiviy from the controller to you AirWave server.

Verify firewall port 162 (default) is open between AMP and the controller.

Then check good your security string and your snmp2c settings in the controller and in your AirWave server.

Also - please read the attached PDF - they will assist u solve your problem.

Me

Attachment(s)

• 3.  RE: SNMP get failure from Airwave to 3600 controller

Posted Mar 15, 2013 09:48 AM

ok...the OS version on one of the controllers that isn't working is 5.0.2.0.  The OS version on the one that did work is 5.0.2.1.  The AWS server version is 7.6.3.

Pings worked without issue.  There are no firewalls between AWS and the controller (unless there's a firewall in CentOS, but i'm not a linux guy, so no clue how to verify).

the SNMP settings look to be the same.  i'll take a look at the docs you mentioned and see if anything sticks out.

Thanks

SJ

• 4.  RE: SNMP get failure from Airwave to 3600 controller

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Mar 14, 2013 07:24 PM