Network Management

Reply
MVP
Posts: 2,954
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

VisualRF on Airwave device localization

Hello Everyone

Okay i got in a small office of 120 m^2   i got 3 APS

 

2 AP 93H (5ghz radio on)

1AP 105(5ghz radio on and 2.4ghz on) band steering on 5ghz force

 

We are all connected to 5ghz of course, i just got the other radio of 2.4ghz for the guest that does not have 5ghz capable devices

 

Now my issue is sometimes someone connect to an AP   let say in the map i got on the airwave the user is on his desk, which  should be on the map i uploaded UP  but then i see that user localted  DOWN like if he were on the engineering department not on the Sales deparment which is UP on the map.   I got 3 APS and i though it would do a triangulation!

 

I got those APS spead in the office.   Maybe is how im putting the APS i dont know.

 

Is there is something i can do to correct this? or i did misconfigured something?

 

How i did the map? as i oculd not get the dgw file, well i did took the time to do all the measurements i did a of course a small design of the office in a small scale.  Then i mesuare and tell it that  well i put those in metters.

 

Is there anything im missing? Any recommendation to improve the accuracy?

 

Cheers

Carlos

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
MVP
Posts: 4,232
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: VisualRF on Airwave device localization

You probably checked this but just in case on the controller can you confirmed that user is connected to AP located in the Sales dept, is the AP located in the eng dept close to Sales dept in the bottom floor ? Or you don't have any APs on that floor ?

You could try using the region option and also re-measuring by using the size of one of the doors which usually about 3-4 feet and the floor height . What type of walls do they have ?
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
MVP
Posts: 2,954
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: VisualRF on Airwave device localization

Hello Fabian

They are all close just look at the dimention 120m^2 !! thats not big.   Plus the walls are dry walls...

 

 

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
MVP
Posts: 4,232
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: VisualRF on Airwave device localization

Also in the AMP can you check the association history
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
MVP
Posts: 4,232
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: VisualRF on Airwave device localization

What do you see on the controller ?

Does it shows that the device connected to Sales AP ?
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
MVP
Posts: 2,954
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: VisualRF on Airwave device localization

The thing is is that i could try lowering the AP power level but that will not work... as the client can see the AP with the same power level no matter what power level i use on the AP.   What it matter here for the roaming its the client perspective! as far i understand...

I guest i could upgrade it again for client match to see if it pick the nearest AP.

For example one of my coworkers was connected to the small server room AP and she has my desk AP near her!

 

 

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
MVP
Posts: 2,954
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: VisualRF on Airwave device localization

[ Edited ]

I can tell you the APS are like  6 to 8  Metters between them.  Just dry walls its a small office o 10 employees :)

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
MVP
Posts: 4,232
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: VisualRF on Airwave device localization

 

 

You could check if the client is getting good SNR values by doing the show ap debug client-table ap-name <apname> because if after device does its calculation do determine to what AP to roam and it gets a good SNR/RSSI values from that AP it will be tough to get it to roam sometimes .

 

ClientMatch could work but at the same if ClientMatch probe report shows that the other AP has better values than the other is not going to steer it over but you could also adjust the settings and make the SNR to be 35 and be more aggreassive  ...

 

Another option would be to make the other one less desirable by creating an AP specific and lowering the power just on that and one and increasing the power on the one but that could potentially impact the users in the bottom floor.

 

What type of device are you using ? Laptop ? Windows or Apple ?

 

If it is an Intel card you can force it to do aggreasive roaming.

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
MVP
Posts: 2,954
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: VisualRF on Airwave device localization

The client gets good snr of all of them :)

 

I mean anywhere in the office as i said its a small office with dry walls... i can even cover all the office with just one AP with good signal everywhere...

 

We are all using Laptops... Windows ones

 

Ill try that next week on august as ill be out of town this week that is coming...

 

This is hte only thing i need to fix before putting up my airwave which will be seen by our potential clients that would like get it.

 

I hope that can fix it... ill tell you  as soon as i can try but right now i cannot try as the office is close....

 

Anyways if anyone else got other suggestion or why this is happening please post them.

 

The other thing is that i dont know how does the Visual RF  put the AP on his program? does he puts all the APs as they were on the ceiling facing down? or in one direction in particular ? do you know that fabian?

 

Cheers

Carlos

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
MVP
Posts: 4,232
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: VisualRF on Airwave device localization

 

Did you Planned the APs on the floor map based on what VisualRF suggested ? Did you did it manually ?

 

 

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: