Network Management

Reply
MVP
Posts: 2,866
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

airwaves not detecting clients

Hello

Im testing the lastest verison of airwaves...

I got it with my demo Wireless controller whichi s also with the lastest firmware...

I set it up, and i can see everything, rogues aps the APS the wireless controller all with config good no mismatches.

 

But my airwaves says there is 0 clients connected when i got like 3 connected... i already did polling but stilll cant see them on the airwaves?

Any help will be appreciated.

 

Cheers

Carlos

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Moderator
Posts: 1,223
Registered: ‎10-16-2008

Re: airwaves not detecting clients

A few quick things to check:

 

Besides device model and firmware,

1. Are the APs added in AMP?

2. Has the SNMP string been changed?  If so, does AMP's SNMP string for a controller match up with the controllers enabled SNMP strings?

3. Try SNMP walking the OIDs: nUserName, nUserRole, nUserApBSSID.  If you have 3 clients, you should be getting 3 returns on each topic.

4. Are these wired or wireless clients?


Rob Gin
Senior QA Engineer - Network Services
Aruba Networks, a Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company
MVP
Posts: 2,866
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: airwaves not detecting clients

Hello Rgin!

 

Re: airwaves not detecting clients
 

A few quick things to check:

 

Besides device model and firmware,

1. Are the APs added in AMP?

Yes

2. Has the SNMP string been changed?  If so, does AMP's SNMP string for a controller match up with the controllers enabled SNMP strings?

Yes otherwise i dont think they would be up on my Airwaves i think

3. Try SNMP walking the OIDs: nUserName, nUserRole, nUserApBSSID.  If you have 3 clients, you should be getting 3 returns on each topic.

How do i do this?

 

4. Are these wired or wireless clients?

They are wireless Clients

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Moderator
Posts: 1,223
Registered: ‎10-16-2008

Re: airwaves not detecting clients

The AMP CLI has some aliases that assist with SNMP walks.

 

For SNMP v2c:

     # s2w (IP address of controller) (community string) (OID string) (additional flags)

Example:

     # s2w 10.10.10.10 public nUserName

Example with flags:

     # s2w 10.10.10.10 public nUserName -OX -Cc

          -OX = translates hex values to mac if available

          -Cc = makes sure to walk OIDs in increasing order (to escape loops)

 

For SNMP v3:

     # s3w (AMP database ID for controller) (OID) (additional flags)

AMP database ID can be gotten from the URL of the controllers monitor or manage page.  It will be the ending value of the URL.  For instance, if my URL was: my.amp.name/ap_monitoring?id=15813

     Then my ID is 15813.

 

This will merely confirm what data the controller passed to the AMP via SNMP.  Pay attention to response time, a slow SNMP response from a walk is going to be the same when AMP makes the request.  Also, if the table is large, you may want to time the amount of time it takes to get the complete response (In the case of AMP's request, the actual request is for the entire table, not just the single OID, so walking 'wlsxUserTable' would be closer to the actual.  I had provided the individual OIDs as they get the specific data to look at out of the table).

 

If the SNMP walk yields the correct response, then the next step would be to open a support case.  Provide the controller firmware version and the data collected via SNMP walk.


Rob Gin
Senior QA Engineer - Network Services
Aruba Networks, a Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company
MVP
Posts: 2,866
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: airwaves not detecting clients

[ Edited ]

Thanks Rgin! ill try these this week!

ill have you updated!

 

But its weird becasue i had a demo on an older firwmare of Airwaves and everything worked just fine...

 

This time i build a new Virtual Machine and added it in the same way i did before but with the other airwaves, and now i got this problem!

 

Cheers

Carlos

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Moderator
Posts: 1,223
Registered: ‎10-16-2008

Re: airwaves not detecting clients

Remember when monitoring Aruba devices to have the traps also pointed as some updates are triggered faster by traps:

 

On the controller:

# snmp-server host <AMP IP ADDR> version 2c <SNMP Community String of Controller>


Rob Gin
Senior QA Engineer - Network Services
Aruba Networks, a Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company
MVP
Posts: 2,866
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: airwaves not detecting clients

[ Edited ]

Yes i got that configured already, its on the manuals i read :) hehe

 snmp-server host 172.16.3.222 version 2c xxxx udp-port 161

mgmt-server type amp primary-server 172.16.3.222

 

I got those on the controller

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎12-07-2014

Re: airwaves not detecting clients

it is just a POC,may i still open a CASE also?

MVP
Posts: 1,399
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: airwaves not detecting clients

if you have a support contract, yes you can open a case
Pasquale Monardo | Senior Network Solutions Consultant
ACDX #420 | ACMP
[If you found my post helpful, please give kudos!]
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎12-07-2014

Re: airwaves not detecting clients

Look, It's just a POC to our potential customer. So, no support contract from our potential customer.

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: