Network Management

Reply
Contributor II
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎01-25-2013

visualrf not working between different floors

Hi,

 

i performed some testing on VisualRF in Airwave 8.2.0.3.

 

Some issues i noticed with a test setup describing one building with five floors.

 

1. initially my client device is picked up by visualrf.  But when i move the device between different floors, the system loses track.  After 10 minutes i notice in visualrf the device remains on the initial floor, but without connection.

 

The controllers however pick up immediately the device has moved and switch to another ap.  Visualrf however...

 

2. seems looking for a device is limited to a specific floor.  I want to look for a device in a complete building (or even site).  But this does not work?

 

I enabled RTLS between controller and airwave, but this does not seem to improve the situation.  The floorplans have also been finalized with wall and ceiling attenuations.

 

Since the controller picks up the change, it seems logically visualrf should pick up the change.  But this is not happening...

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,955
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: visualrf not working between different floors

Do you have SNMP traps setup to be sent from the controller to Airwave?  Do you also have AMON setup to be sent to Airwave?

RTLS should not be necessary at all.   SNMP traps and AMON should have the information to signal that a client has roamed from one AP to another.  Have you seen the Airwave 8.2 - Aruba Best Practices guide here?  https://support.arubanetworks.com/Documentation/tabid/77/DMXModule/512/Default.aspx?EntryId=21059

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor II
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎01-25-2013

Re: visualrf not working between different floors

Hi,

 

yes traps and amon are configured.  I doublechecked the best practices.  Set amon now as preferred (over snmp) but this does not seem to make a difference.

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,955
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: visualrf not working between different floors

If you can reproduce it, you should open a TAC case, because that should not happen.  Prefer AMON should have no effect.

 

I would look at the System > Performance tab on your Airwave server and see if there are any issues, like high utilization or Papi packet loss.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor II
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎01-25-2013

Re: visualrf not working between different floors

1-08-2016 17-11-29.png

1-08-2016 17-11-34.png

 

Seems okay to me ...

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: