Network Management

last person joined: yesterday 

Keep an informative eye on your network with HPE Aruba Networking network management solutions
Expand all | Collapse all

wifi across multiple vlans/WAN

This thread has been viewed 3 times
  • 1.  wifi across multiple vlans/WAN

Posted Aug 24, 2016 02:15 AM

Hi all, we began our wifi deployment with only a handful of devices but that number is growing and so is the list of sites requiring wireless access. We have various remote sites that make up a fully routed, segregated WAN and I am trying to avoid a situation where we must have a separate master for each site or have to stretch a management VLAN across multiple sites. Has anyone else got a similar setup to this that works or am I asking the impossible? Please bear with me I am new to the way the Arubas operate.

Thanks,

Michelle

• 2.  RE: wifi across multiple vlans/WAN

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Aug 24, 2016 05:33 AM

That is where you could use controller-less access points:  http://www.arubanetworks.com/products/networking/aruba-instant/  Instant can be deployed across the WAN without controllers.. 

• 3.  RE: wifi across multiple vlans/WAN

Posted Aug 24, 2016 09:46 PM

Hi Colin, thanks for your response. So I should have mentioned we do currently use Instant APs... my bad sorry. I have been referring to the head APs of each site as the master for each site so maybe my terminology is off.

Regardless, at the moment, in order to manage each site, we are having to configure 1 controller-less AP for each subnet (as that's all they appear to discover). This is really time consuming. Is there a way to see all APs across all subnets? The APs appear to be Layer3 capable but I just dont know how to take advantage of that capability.

Cheers,

Michelle

• 4.  RE: wifi across multiple vlans/WAN

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Aug 25, 2016 08:02 AM

Do you have Airwave?

• 5.  RE: wifi across multiple vlans/WAN

Posted Aug 25, 2016 08:26 AM
    Is airwave the only option?