Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎06-04-2009

RAP-2 error

Hi all,

in my lab i have configured RAP-2 to connect to Aruba 200 controller,

in my lab i have D-Link router with static routable IP, and i assigned it to the controller, i configured the RAP with the controller routable IP


when connecting the RAP in my Lab it shows up in the controller and every things go fine,

but when connecting it from a remote site through the internet
i see thouse logs in the controller

authmgr: <124004> |authmgr| AP 00:0b:86:c3:5f:db: BSSID 00:0b:86:b5:fd:b3 ESSID Test802.1X2 aaa profile mohamedaaa
authmgr: <124004> |authmgr| AP 00:0b:86:c3:5f:db: BSSID 00:0b:86:b5:fd:b2 ESSID for_wep aaa profile Ekahau AAA
authmgr: <124004> |authmgr| AP 00:0b:86:c3:5f:db: BSSID 00:0b:86:b5:fd:b1 ESSID CS-WIFI aaa profile CS-WIFI-aaa-profile
authmgr: <124004> |authmgr| AP 00:0b:86:c3:5f:db: BSSID 00:0b:86:b5:fd:b0 ESSID EkahauRTLS aaa profile Ekahau AAA




and


wms: <316023> |wms| PAPI_Send failed to probe IP 1.1.1.7 from WMS


where 1.1.1.7 is an ip from the ippool range for the VPN


anyone come across that problem?

any suggestion?

thanks in advance
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,985
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Not enough information


Hi all,

in my lab i have configured RAP-2 to connect to Aruba 200 controller,

in my lab i have D-Link router with static routable IP, and i assigned it to the controller, i configured the RAP with the controller routable IP


when connecting the RAP in my Lab it shows up in the controller and every things go fine,

but when connecting it from a remote site through the internet
i see thouse logs in the controller


authmgr: <124004> |authmgr| AP 00:0b:86:c3:5f:db: BSSID 00:0b:86:b5:fd:b3 ESSID Test802.1X2 aaa profile mohamedaaa
authmgr: <124004> |authmgr| AP 00:0b:86:c3:5f:db: BSSID 00:0b:86:b5:fd:b2 ESSID for_wep aaa profile Ekahau AAA
authmgr: <124004> |authmgr| AP 00:0b:86:c3:5f:db: BSSID 00:0b:86:b5:fd:b1 ESSID CS-WIFI aaa profile CS-WIFI-aaa-profile
authmgr: <124004> |authmgr| AP 00:0b:86:c3:5f:db: BSSID 00:0b:86:b5:fd:b0 ESSID EkahauRTLS aaa profile Ekahau AAA




and


wms: <316023> |wms| PAPI_Send failed to probe IP 1.1.1.7 from WMS


where 1.1.1.7 is an ip from the ippool range for the VPN


anyone come across that problem?

any suggestion?

thanks in advance




The only thing that the error message means is that there is a connectivity issue between the RAP and the controller. If you do a "show ap active" and it works, that means the AP is up and your configuration is correct. Do a "show ap debug counters" to see if that AP is bootstrapping. "show log system" will also give you more information about what that AP is doing.


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎06-04-2009

Re: RAP-2 error

Hi Colin,

i think it is a connectivity issue, so i need to know how to test my router if it allows the ports needed by the RAP and controller to path through

thanks
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,985
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Connectivity Issue


Hi Colin,

i think it is a connectivity issue, so i need to know how to test my router if it allows the ports needed by the RAP and controller to path through

thanks




Vip,

The Virtual Branch Networking Validated Reference Design Guide here: http://www.arubanetworks.com/pdf/technology/VBN_VRD.pdf has a great troubleshooting section for Remote APs starting page 173.


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎06-04-2009

Re: RAP-2 error

Hi Colin,

i followed the instructions in the troubleshooting section of the VBN VRD

the RAP connects properly to the controller

the IPsec SA is established correctly
the RAP took an inner IP
the AP role switched from the logon role to the ap-role
the RAP is shown in the
 command
but the controller gives the same error message

wms: <316023> |wms| PAPI_Send failed to probe IP 1.1.1.7 from WMS


and after while the RAP is move away from the ap active table

what is your suggestions?
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎06-04-2009

Re: RAP-2 error

Hi all,

i discovered what was the problem

i was configuring the lms of the ap-group to the local IP addr of the controller

so the ap connects to the routable ip address and download the ap-group configaration then tries to connect to the lms ip

thanks colin for your great help
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: