Remote Networking

Contributor I

RAP Problems, Licensing?

Hey All,

I'm pretty new to Aruba so bear with me here. I have a controller with the following licensing:

License Table
-------------
Wireless Intrusion Protection Module: 4
xSec Module: 64
Power Over Ethernet
Access Points: 4
Policy Enforcement Firewall for VPN users
Next Generation Policy Enforcement Firewall Module: 8

Now I am trying to connect an AP105 as a RAP, but am getting a blinking power light and solid Ethernet light. I know the AP105 is talking back to the controller at home via NAT-T (UDP 4500) as I am sniffing the traffic. My hunch is I can't connect until I purchase a separate RAP license. Can someone confirm and tell me the best way in the CLI or GUI to determine when there is a problem due to licensing?

Adv(thanks)ance
Guru Elite

Re: RAP Problems, Licensing?

What version of OS do you have and what method are you using to provision the AP105 as a RAP. ArubaOS 5 and above do not require separate licenses for RAPS.

Type "show keys" on the commandline to see exactly what you have and what is enabled.

Type "show ap license-usage" on the commandline to see what is in use.

If That AP comes up and you are out of licenses, you should be able to do a "show ap database" and see the "L" flag next to your access point.

Did any Remote Access Point ever work?

Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor I

Thanks for clearing up the licensing question. I am on 5.0.2 and "show keys" shows me that I do not need RAP licensing:

Licensed Features
-----------------
Feature Status
------- ------
Access Points 8
Remote Access Points 8
~~~
Remote APs ENABLED
~~~
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"show ap license-usage"

Total AP Licenses : 8
AP Licenses Used : 1
~~~
Unused AP Licenses : 7
Licenses used for Campus AP's : 1
Available Campus AP's : 3