Remote Networking

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Rap5 and 4g usb

Hi,

Has anyone got a 4G USB to work on a RAP5? If so, would you mind sharing which 4G USB, and how you got it to work?

Thanks,

** M.T.
Aruba Employee
Posts: 509
Registered: ‎07-03-2008

Re: Rap5 and 4g usb

It's not supported yet, MT.
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Re: Rap5 and 4g usb

Would it work if I've tried?? :D
Aruba Employee
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎09-27-2010

Re: Rap5 and 4g usb




Unfortunately not, very different from 3G.

-joshua
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,274
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Rap5 and 4g usb

4g uses a different connection method than 3g and roaming between 4g and 3g networks and back is still not very good in preliminary testing. The technology is very new and still needs much testing.


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Regular Contributor II
Posts: 205
Registered: ‎09-28-2010

Re: Rap5 and 4g usb





Is this still the case?

I'm not able to search for 4g as the term is too short for the forum search engine.....but this is the only thread that pops up when using our popular search engine friend!

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,274
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Rap5 and 4g usb

Please contact your local Aruba sales team for more information on this.


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Regular Contributor II
Posts: 205
Registered: ‎09-28-2010

Re: Rap5 and 4g usb

Is the problem with 4G strictly related to drivers and other issues?

What if you had a 4G device that also had an Ethernet port for connecting a single device (intended for a single PC)?

Would there be anything that would prevent a RAP5, or possibly even a 600 series controller, from using the connection the same as a typical broadband connection?
Aruba Employee
Posts: 509
Registered: ‎07-03-2008

Re: Rap5 and 4g usb

It's a driver issue. If you had a 4G device that provides an ethernet handoff, the RAP would not be involved in the 4G connection, so it's no issue to use one of those devices.
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: