Remote Networking

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-23-2010

VIA installation problem Win7/32Bit

Hi i hope this is the right section for VIA questions.

We are currently installing a Aruba network in to our new building.
But we are running a test on the equipment in the old first.

The problem that we have right now is with the VIA installer.
We have a few Client Computers there it Rollbacks during the installer.

All systems are HP 2540p With Windows 7 Pro 32bit.

We have deactivate Kaspersky and any other system that can protect Register and File system.

The last thing i can see in the "status field" before it Rollbacks is "creating Icon and shortcuts"

The last Lines form the MSI Installer log:

Property(S): SourcedirProduct = {E9B25B84-16DD-4B71-ABA4-DBC3D4CDB0FA}
Property(S): ProductToBeRegistered = 1
Action ended 12:44:47: ExecuteAction. Return value 3.
Action 12:44:47: FatalError.
Action start 12:44:47: FatalError.
Action 12:44:47: FatalError. Dialog created

Do anybody have a hint on what can be wrong?

Thankful for any pointers I can get.
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,279
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: VIA installation problem Win7/32Bit

What version of ArubaOS?


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-23-2010

Re: VIA installation problem Win7/32Bit

Sry here are the Version on Aruba and VIA.
ArubaOS 5.0.2.0
VIA Client Version: 1.0.0.24787

And thanks for quick respons.
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,279
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: VIA installation problem Win7/32Bit

svrbjgu, Windows 7 is not officially supported. Please open a case with tac so that they can take a look at the logs.


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

MVP
Posts: 777
Registered: ‎03-25-2009

Re: VIA installation problem Win7/32Bit




What OS's are supported?
I read (from an old post) win7 64bit isn't supported, and now (a not so old) post stating 32bit isn't either?
Does explain why I couldn't get VIA working on my laptop but seriously.. no win7 support at all? :eek:

Koen (ACMX #351 | ACDX #547 | ACCP)

-- Found something helpful, important, or cool? Click the Kudos Star in a post.
-- Problem Solved? Click "Accept as Solution" in a post.
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,279
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: VIA installation problem Win7/32Bit

As of ArubaOS 6 Windows 7 32-bit is supported.


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

MVP
Posts: 777
Registered: ‎03-25-2009

Re: VIA installation problem Win7/32Bit




that means (1) we cannot install the client on 64bit systems or just that (2) there is no native 64bit client but we can install the 32bit one and get it working?

Koen (ACMX #351 | ACDX #547 | ACCP)

-- Found something helpful, important, or cool? Click the Kudos Star in a post.
-- Problem Solved? Click "Accept as Solution" in a post.
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,279
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: VIA installation problem Win7/32Bit

32-bit - Good. 64-Bit.... Not there yet.


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

MVP
Posts: 777
Registered: ‎03-25-2009

Re: VIA installation problem Win7/32Bit




#########################################
From: -

I just got an update from my Product management Team regarding the via 64 bit. At this time the 64-bit VIA client cannot be distributed from the controller’s internal web server due to flash size limitations. The 64-bit version of VIA for Windows v1.2 has been released and is available for download from the support website. Customers who want to distribute this client to their users must do so through an external web server or by pushing out the .msi file using desktop management systems. Beginning with AOS 6.1, we’ll again be able to host both 32-bit and 64-bit client versions on the controller.

Kindly try the same and let me know whether you are able to download and work fine.
#########################################

Installed and working on my win7 - 64bit system.

Koen (ACMX #351 | ACDX #547 | ACCP)

-- Found something helpful, important, or cool? Click the Kudos Star in a post.
-- Problem Solved? Click "Accept as Solution" in a post.
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

So 64bit and what version of AOS

Just to clarify... you need at least 6.0 code to run or support the 64bit client?
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: