Remote Networking

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-18-2008

Vodafone Huawei USB Modem

Hi,

I've sent the same email to Support but still they are far from the clue...

maybe you have already had the same issue.

here in Italy (but in the UK too) Vodafone is selling USB HSPA+ USB Key,
One of this is a Huawei K4505

Can you please help me on how to configure the 3GUplink on both the controller and a RAP5?

On the controller I’ve followed the instructions on the user guide but apparently there is something wrong with the TTY




(ArubaDSM) (config-cellular Vodafone Italia K4505)# show usb
USB Device Table
----------------
Address Product Vendor ProdID Serial Type Profile State
------- ------- ------ ------ ------ ---- ------- -----
3 Vodafone Mobile Broadband (Huawei) 12d1 1521 Cellular Vodafone Italia K4505 Error: Modem TTY port test failed





(ArubaDSM) (config-cellular Vodafone Italia K4505)# show usb verbose


T: Bus=01 Lev=02 Prnt=02 Port=00 Cnt=01 Dev#= 3 Spd=480 MxCh= 0
D: Ver= 2.00 Cls=00(>ifc ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs= 1
P: Vendor=12d1 ProdID=1521 Rev= 0.00
S: Manufacturer=Vodafone Group (Huawei)
S: Product=Vodafone Mobile Broadband (Huawei)
C:* #Ifs= 2 Cfg#= 1 Atr=c0 MxPwr=500mA
I: If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=08(stor.) Sub=06 Prot=50 Driver=usb-storage
E: Ad=81(I) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=0ms
E: Ad=01(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=0ms
I: If#= 1 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=08(stor.) Sub=06 Prot=50 Driver=usb-storage
E: Ad=02(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=0ms
E: Ad=82(I) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=0ms






(ArubaDSM) (config-cellular Vodafone Italia K4505)# show usb ports 3
sda
sr0
ttyUSB0
ttyUSB1
ttyUSB2
ttyUSB3




(ArubaDSM) (config-cellular Vodafone Italia K4505)# show usb test 3 ttyUSB0
Error: Port I/O error. TTY port usb/3/ttyUSB0 inaccessible

(ArubaDSM) (config-cellular Vodafone Italia K4505)# show usb test 3 ttyUSB1
Error: Port I/O error. TTY port usb/3/ttyUSB1 inaccessible

(ArubaDSM) (config-cellular Vodafone Italia K4505)# show usb test 3 ttyUSB2
TTY port ttyUSB2 does not exist for USB device 3

(ArubaDSM) (config-cellular Vodafone Italia K4505)# show usb test 3 ttyUSB3
Error: Port I/O error. TTY port usb/3/ttyUSB3 inaccessible





Do you think this dongle requires a mode-switch?

Googling I’ve found a guy who, on a linux system and for the same USB dongle, used this:
usb_modeswitch -v 0x12d1 -p 0x1521 -M 55534243123456780000000000000011060000000000000000000000000 000

According to
http://www.draisberghof.de/usb_modeswitch/

"There are three known methods for initiating the switching process:

1. sending a rarely used or seemingly weird standard storage command (equivalent to those of SCSI) to the storage device ("eject" for example)
2. actively removing (rather detaching) the storage driver from the device
3. sending a certain control message to the device
"


but these parameters seems not to be accepted by the controller, where the mode-switch command only supports SCSI "eject" and "rezero" options,

any hint??


regards

Massimo
Aruba Employee
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎04-02-2007

Re: Vodafone Huawei USB Modem

Definitely looks like the device need to be modeswitched first before it enters data mode. Most of the new modems first mount as a storage device for you to load the drivers, then switch to data modem mode after that. From the USB device info it's showing that the two interfaces are classified as usb-storage, where as a modem port would show up as mounted by option driver for example.

Each company has their own proprietary way of doing the modeswitch and there's not a generic way to force the mode change. Have you tried using the eject option to see if the device goes into data mode? For example:

cellular profile K4505
vendor 12d1 product 1521
modeswitch eject sr0

This will attempt to "eject" the virtual cdrom driver device. From the usb ports info both sr0 and sda are shown, so try both. The "rezero" command is typically a Novatel thing, but doesn't hurt to try.

If it works, you'll see the device disappear and come back as an unknown device. You can provision it as a data modem then. Please note that due to the myriad of new modeswitch methods, many times it'll require engineering help to add the new modeswitch capability to the next release.

Cheers
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-18-2008

Re: Vodafone Huawei USB Modem


Definitely looks like the device need to be modeswitched first before it enters data mode.

...

This will attempt to "eject" the virtual cdrom driver device. From the usb ports info both sr0 and sda are shown, so try both. The "rezero" command is typically a Novatel thing, but doesn't hurt to try.




Hi,

it doesn't seem to accept the eject command or it has no effect.... the device is still there not show anymore as "Cellular" but it


before:
(ArubaDSM) (config-cellular Vodafone Italia K4505)# show usb

USB Device Table
----------------
Address Product Vendor ProdID Serial Type Profile State
------- ------- ------ ------ ------ ---- ------- -----
4 Vodafone Mobile Broadband (Huawei) 12d1 1521 Cellular Vodafone Italia K4505 Error: Modem TTY port test failed. #1



Then:

(ArubaDSM) (config-cellular Vodafone Italia K4505)# modeswitch eject sr0
(ArubaDSM) (config-cellular Vodafone Italia K4505)# show usb

USB Device Table
----------------
Address Product Vendor ProdID Serial Type Profile State
------- ------- ------ ------ ------ ---- ------- -----
4 Vodafone Mobile Broadband (Huawei) 12d1 1521 Mode Switch Vodafone Italia K4505




but the TTY still doesn't work....

I think a different modeswitch command is needed like the one i found:
usb_modeswitch -v 0x12d1 -p 0x1521 -M 55534243123456780000000000000011060000000000000000000000000000

but the Aruba modeswitch command just support eject or rezero

thanks,
regards
Aruba Employee
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎04-02-2007

Re: Vodafone Huawei USB Modem

Can you get the output of 'show usb verbose' and 'show usb ports 3' after specifying the modeswitch parameters (eject sr0, eject sda, and rezo)?

Currently we don't support third party utilities like the usb_modeswitch application. If it is not a model we already support then the functionality needs to be added in-house.
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-18-2008

Re: Vodafone Huawei USB Modem


Can you get the output of 'show usb verbose' and 'show usb ports 3' after specifying the modeswitch parameters (eject sr0, eject sda, and rezo)?

Currently we don't support third party utilities like the usb_modeswitch application. If it is not a model we already support then the functionality needs to be added in-house.





Here you go.... it seems nothing changes

show usb

USB Device Table
----------------
Address Product Vendor ProdID Serial Type Profile State
------- ------- ------ ------ ------ ---- ------- -----
4 Vodafone Mobile Broadband (Huawei) 12d1 1521 Cellular Vodafone Italia K4505 Error: Modem TTY port test failed. #1




modewitch eject sr0

show usb verbose
T: Bus=01 Lev=02 Prnt=02 Port=00 Cnt=01 Dev#= 4 Spd=480 MxCh= 0
D: Ver= 2.00 Cls=00(>ifc ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs= 1
P: Vendor=12d1 ProdID=1521 Rev= 0.00
S: Manufacturer=Vodafone Group (Huawei)
S: Product=Vodafone Mobile Broadband (Huawei)
C:* #Ifs= 2 Cfg#= 1 Atr=c0 MxPwr=500mA
I: If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=08(stor.) Sub=06 Prot=50 Driver=usb-storage
E: Ad=81(I) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=0ms
E: Ad=01(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=0ms
I: If#= 1 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=08(stor.) Sub=06 Prot=50 Driver=usb-storage
E: Ad=02(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=0ms
E: Ad=82(I) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=0ms

show usb ports 4

sda
sr0
ttyUSB0
ttyUSB1
ttyUSB2
ttyUSB3



modeswitch eject sda

show usb verbose
T: Bus=01 Lev=02 Prnt=02 Port=00 Cnt=01 Dev#= 4 Spd=480 MxCh= 0
D: Ver= 2.00 Cls=00(>ifc ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs= 1
P: Vendor=12d1 ProdID=1521 Rev= 0.00
S: Manufacturer=Vodafone Group (Huawei)
S: Product=Vodafone Mobile Broadband (Huawei)
C:* #Ifs= 2 Cfg#= 1 Atr=c0 MxPwr=500mA
I: If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=08(stor.) Sub=06 Prot=50 Driver=usb-storage
E: Ad=81(I) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=0ms
E: Ad=01(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=0ms
I: If#= 1 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=08(stor.) Sub=06 Prot=50 Driver=usb-storage
E: Ad=02(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=0ms
E: Ad=82(I) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=0ms

show usb ports 4

sda
sr0
ttyUSB0
ttyUSB1
ttyUSB2
ttyUSB3




modeswitch rezero

show usb verbose

T: Bus=01 Lev=02 Prnt=02 Port=00 Cnt=01 Dev#= 4 Spd=480 MxCh= 0
D: Ver= 2.00 Cls=00(>ifc ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs= 1
P: Vendor=12d1 ProdID=1521 Rev= 0.00
S: Manufacturer=Vodafone Group (Huawei)
S: Product=Vodafone Mobile Broadband (Huawei)
C:* #Ifs= 2 Cfg#= 1 Atr=c0 MxPwr=500mA
I: If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=08(stor.) Sub=06 Prot=50 Driver=usb-storage
E: Ad=81(I) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=0ms
E: Ad=01(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=0ms
I: If#= 1 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=08(stor.) Sub=06 Prot=50 Driver=usb-storage
E: Ad=02(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=0ms
E: Ad=82(I) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=0ms


show usb ports 4

sda
sr0
ttyUSB0
ttyUSB1
ttyUSB2
ttyUSB3

Aruba Employee
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎04-02-2007

Re: Vodafone Huawei USB Modem

It's not modeswitching using conventional means. Please open a feature request with tech support to add support for this modem.

Thanks.
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Re: Vodafone Huawei USB Modem


It's not modeswitching using conventional means. Please open a feature request with tech support to add support for this modem.

Thanks.




Hello !
We are testing this now and have same Huawei productID device.
Is this hw supported now and if yes with which strings on RAP5 ?

Thanks, regards
Alex
Alcatel-Lucent Enterprise Italy
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-18-2008

Re: Vodafone Huawei USB Modem


Hello !
We are testing this now and have same Huawei productID device.
Is this hw supported now and if yes with which strings on RAP5 ?

Thanks, regards
Alex




Hi Alessandro,

at least in fw 6.1 yes,
it is supported but on both the controller and the RAP5 you have to issue a modeswitch command to have the USB dongle switch from a storage device to a modem device.
Unfortunately on the RAP5 this command can only be issued via CLI AP provisionig.
you cannot do it from the GUI nor from the RAP console.

ciao
Massimo
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-24-2011

Re: Vodafone Huawei USB Modem


Definitely looks like the device need to be modeswitched first before it enters data mode. Most of the new modems first mount as a storage device for you to load the drivers, then switch to data modem mode after that. From the USB device info it's showing that the two interfaces are classified as usb-storage, where as a modem port would show up as mounted by option driver for example.

Each company has their own proprietary way of doing the modeswitch and there's not a generic way to force the mode change. Have you tried using the eject option to see if the device goes into data mode? For example:

cellular profile K4505
vendor 12d1 product 1521
modeswitch eject sr0

This will attempt to "eject" the virtual cdrom driver device. From the usb ports info both sr0 and sda are shown, so try both. The "rezero" command is typically a Novatel thing, but doesn't hurt to try.

If it works, you'll see the device disappear and come back as an unknown device. You can provision it as a data modem then. Please note that due to the myriad of new modeswitch methods, many times it'll require engineering help to add the new modeswitch capability to the next release.

Cheers






Thanks...You just saved me such a hassle!
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: