Security

Contributor II

802.1X terminated at controller w/ Win2k8 NPS as Radius

Hello, I'm hoping someone can help me out as I'm fairly new to Aruba, and I'm stuck.

I am trying to setup 802.1x on an Aruba 3600.  Because Aruba does not support fail-over for multiple servers with 802.1x, I have to terminate the 802.1x on the controller, and then pass the credentials to my windows servers.  I have a public certification from godaddy that I have installed on the controller, however, users are still getting errors...

Radius Server:           *******
Root CA:                    http://www.valicert.com/

The server "*******" presented a valid certificate issued by "http://www.valicert.com/", but "http://www.valicert.com/"....

Is there anywhere I can find step by step instructions on setting up an Aruba controller with a public cert for 802.1x termination on the controller, and authentication on a windows server 2008 box? 

I hope I am making sense here, my frustration is currently blinding.

Solutions Engineer
CWNA-CWDP-ACMP-ACCP
Guru Elite

Re: 802.1X terminated at controller w/ Win2k8 NPS as Radius

[ Edited ]

1st problem:

When you say fail-over, do both servers have users in the same domain?  If that is the case, you do not need termination.  You only need termination if you want to do fail-through, which is used when you have two servers in different domains, serving up different sets of users.  Fail through is used to detect when there is a negative hit due to bad username/password and then moves on to the next server.  if both servers are in the same domain, disable fail-through, because if a users fails authentication on the first server, he will certainly fail on the second, but there will be a considerable delay.

2nd problem:

The users who want to authenticate via 802.1x need to have valicert root CA and any intermediate certificates installed in their Trusted Root Store.  I'm sure Valicert will give you those certificates.