Security

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor II

Anyone able to get an Aruba 650 and Cisco ASA point to point tunnel working?

I have been working in my lab (more like a big office) on getting a Cisco ASA5525 and an Aruba 650 point to point tunnel working using ikev2.  They seem to talk but its hard to say where the problem might lay.  I am new to Aruba and have been working with Cisco for a while.  I did some debug yesterday and was able to get them to agree on their profiles.  However unable to get the tunnel working.  Will this even work?   Pretty simple network design.  I have two Cisco ASA devices and two Aruba 650 devices to work with.  I have already configured the 650 to use ikev2 certs for client connections and wireless.  I have attached the configurations for both devices.  Security is not a concern within the configurations, just want to get it working, securing the devices is secondary for now.  Thanks.

Aruba_to_ASA_P2P.png

Aruba Employee

Re: Anyone able to get an Aruba 650 and Cisco ASA point to point tunnel working?

Hi,

I used to work as a embedded software developer for Shiva (IPSec VPN Gateways).

I did inter-operability testing and setup various different kind of VPN Appliances using IPSec.

The worse IPSec stack to inter-operate with is Cisco's.

I recently tried to interconnect a device that had an embedded KAME based IPSec Stack.

I lost a total of one week worth of effort trying to make it work...

If was able to get to a point where the Phase 1 was working, however the Phase 2 was never stable and routing was not consistent.

My 2 cents advice: Replace your Cisco ASA with a Linux based IPSec Gateway like: IPCop, Endian Firewall, M0n0Wall, Vyatta, ...

Paul Gallant. Eng.
CWNA, CWSP

Re: Anyone able to get an Aruba 650 and Cisco ASA point to point tunnel working?