Security

last person joined: yesterday 

Forum to discuss Enterprise security using HPE Aruba Networking NAC solutions (ClearPass), Introspect, VIA, 360 Security Exchange, Extensions, and Policy Enforcement Firewall (PEF).
Expand all | Collapse all

ClearPass with wired 802.1x static IP devices and profiling

This thread has been viewed 6 times
  • 1.  ClearPass with wired 802.1x static IP devices and profiling

EMPLOYEE
    Posted May 17, 2017 07:35 PM

Hi,

I am new to CPPM and would like to get help from others.

The requirment of the tasks as below,

- The end devices (servers, printers, and etc) are configured by the static IP addresses

- Certification has been installed on the devices

- No profiled yet but after authentication, the VLAN will be assigned to the device and be profied into the right category

I have a few questions

1. When the static IP already assigned on the device, what is the best way to use authentication method?

Adding all static IP addresses into Active Directory under 'computer' and use AD for authentication method with devices' IP or MAC address save on the AD?

or

Using Static Host List from 'Device' menu on CPPM by adding IP or MAC address and use authentication method? I found that 'belongs to group' is selected, then 'Static Host List' save with IP based won't be available (only MAC address list is avalable)

2. Can I use 'certification' installed on the devices as authentication method combined with above (AD or Static Host List)? please show me how to.

3. How can CPPM allocate the correct VLAN per device group (Server, printer and etc)?

4. How can the devices be profiled ater completing task above?

Thanks in advance.

• 2.  RE: ClearPass with wired 802.1x static IP devices and profiling

Posted May 18, 2017 02:13 PM

I'll try to help a bit even if i'm not sure to follow on everything :)