Security

last person joined: 21 hours ago 

Forum to discuss Enterprise security using HPE Aruba Networking NAC solutions (ClearPass), Introspect, VIA, 360 Security Exchange, Extensions, and Policy Enforcement Firewall (PEF).
Expand all | Collapse all

Clearpass 6.3.1 how to set a default expiry for a MACTrac device?

This thread has been viewed 7 times
  • 1.  Clearpass 6.3.1 how to set a default expiry for a MACTrac device?

Posted Apr 07, 2014 10:48 AM

Hello,

I have configured my Clearpass guest to login our users as MACTrac operators, they are able to log in and create a new device using it's mac. 

However, it gives them no expiry. I work at a school campus and would like to set a default expiration time on user created devices. This way, we can go through and clear out expired devices at an interval we determine appropriate. 

As an Admin I know I could change the expiration manually, which is what I would intend to do for special circumstances, but I don't want to have to go in behind each person and set an expiration. 

In the fields and views I see where the text for the expiration is displayed, but I haven't found a location to set a default. In the manual I notice it consistently says that there is no expiry for these devices. I really hope there is a way to change that default. 

• 2.  RE: Clearpass 6.3.1 how to set a default expiry for a MACTrac device?
    Best Answer

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Apr 07, 2014 10:53 AM

You can duplicate the default form, set an initial value for the expire_time field and then hide the field from the form.

modify-expire.PNG

• 3.  RE: Clearpass 6.3.1 how to set a default expiry for a MACTrac device?

Posted Apr 07, 2014 11:10 AM

Ah, That's a clever way to accomplish this. Thanks!

• 4.  RE: Clearpass 6.3.1 how to set a default expiry for a MACTrac device?

Posted Apr 08, 2014 12:23 PM

So I had to unhide the interface to see if I saw what the issue is. I am drawing a blank.