Security

last person joined: 12 hours ago 

Forum to discuss Enterprise security using HPE Aruba Networking NAC solutions (ClearPass), Introspect, VIA, 360 Security Exchange, Extensions, and Policy Enforcement Firewall (PEF).
Expand all | Collapse all

Clearpass CoA update session timeout on registration

This thread has been viewed 5 times
  • 1.  Clearpass CoA update session timeout on registration

Posted Jul 21, 2014 09:54 AM

Hi

I’m new to clearpass so may have missed something obvious or it’s not possible etc. Basically we have a requirement to provide a guest captive portal with self-sponsor where initial registration grants 15min access (so you can get to your emails) and clicking the self-sponsor link updates this to 3 months.

I have the basics working, the guest gets 15mins access, clicks the link and clearpass updates their account with +720 day’s expiration. What I can’t seem to get is CoA / RFC 3567 to update the active session so the user does not have to re-login again.

At the moment the user gets redirected back to the portal after 15mins and when they log back in they get 3 months session timeout in seconds (it’s a large number, may just be the largest WLC will accept).

CoA is working as I can disconnect users etc from clearpass, Radius accounting is also working correctly as far as I can tell. I have created a policy which will successfully update via CoA the session timeout, I have tested it by enforcing it under the guest authentications service.

I can’t see anyway of enforcing this profile based on radius accounting or the user clicking the link in the self-sponsor email.

Any ideas?

Clearpass version 6.3.4.64924

Cisco WLC version 7.6.120.0

Thanks in advance

Andy

• 2.  RE: Clearpass CoA update session timeout on registration
    Best Answer

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Jul 21, 2014 02:24 PM

Do you have two services created for the Guest service. One for the initial .1x CP login and the MAC auth for the mac cacheing. 

guestservices.png