Security

last person joined: yesterday 

Forum to discuss Enterprise security using HPE Aruba Networking NAC solutions (ClearPass), Introspect, VIA, 360 Security Exchange, Extensions, and Policy Enforcement Firewall (PEF).
Expand all | Collapse all

Encrypting Guest traffic

This thread has been viewed 5 times
  • 1.  Encrypting Guest traffic

Posted Sep 02, 2009 12:11 PM
    Is there a way to set encryption on traffic from a guest user after he/she authenticates via the captive portal? My corp grows increasingly worried about guest users being victimized while connected with no encryption(and us being held liable). I'm new to this Aruba stuff so pardon my ignorance if this is well covered territory.

• 2.  RE: Encrypting Guest traffic

Posted Sep 02, 2009 02:47 PM
    There is no way short of switching them to a new virtual AP. Most of your guests will probably launch a VPN of some sort once the connect. You may want to add something to your terms of service to remind users that there is no security on the guest network and that they should take measures to protect themselves.

The biggest issue with encrypting guests is helping users configure their laptop. You could use WPA2-PSK followed by captive portal, but you should have some instructions to help people understand how to configure the PSK, and understand that it is a PSK so users could still be at risk if an attacker has the key and can capture the initial messages.

Hope that helps,
    -awl

• 3.  RE: Encrypting Guest traffic
    Best Answer

Posted Sep 02, 2009 04:32 PM
    I agree with Andy, you should really ensure that it's explained to your guests that their traffic is in the clear and it's their responsibility to protect their own data.

I'm not a lawyer, but just about every hotspot out there (hotels, Mcdonalds, Burger King, Panera Bread, Atlanta Bread, etc.) uses no encryption and they don't seem concerned about being held liable, and I'm sure their lawyers hashed that out a long time ago.