Security

last person joined: yesterday 

Forum to discuss Enterprise security using HPE Aruba Networking NAC solutions (ClearPass), Introspect, VIA, 360 Security Exchange, Extensions, and Policy Enforcement Firewall (PEF).
Expand all | Collapse all

Hard-Wired client connections to RAP 5s/155s not responding to EAP from Server

This thread has been viewed 1 times
  • 1.  Hard-Wired client connections to RAP 5s/155s not responding to EAP from Server

Posted Dec 05, 2014 03:33 PM

I have a master/local setup managing about 200 RAPs which all use the same exact profile from our controller.  We recently upgraded from Cisco ACS to Clearpass for Authentication and I realized that all our hard wired connections were still pointing to ACS (Wireless is working fine).  So we built the services and enforcement policies through CPPM and tested it out successfully.  Last night I repointed the authentication for the hard wired connections from ACS to CPPM and saw it was accepting requests as it should.  This morning however, users started logging on and I noticed several timouts and on the user end, they are recieving the error unauthenticated network.  When I checked the indivicual users on the local controller, they repeatedly stated that the controller was reaching out to the client (the windows computer) for an EAP request with no response back.  This happened with 30-40% of the connections out there even though they all have the same configuration. 

It sounds like when I made the change, something broke on the client end, but I don't know what it is.

Any thoughts? I was thinking to reboot all of the RAPs along with both of the controllers this evening.  Right now any users have been just switching to wireless as a workaround and if the reboot doesn't work tonight, I'm going to point it back to ACS.

• 2.  RE: Hard-Wired client connections to RAP 5s/155s not responding to EAP from Server

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Dec 05, 2014 03:36 PM