Security

last person joined: yesterday 

Forum to discuss Enterprise security using HPE Aruba Networking NAC solutions (ClearPass), Introspect, VIA, 360 Security Exchange, Extensions, and Policy Enforcement Firewall (PEF).
Expand all | Collapse all

Multi-controller captive portal SSL certificate

This thread has been viewed 27 times
  • 1.  Multi-controller captive portal SSL certificate

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Jan 15, 2012 09:03 PM

I did a CSR for my master controller and installed the certificate with the name wireless.xxx.yyy.edu. This is the name I would like to use as the URL for the captive portal redirect. How can I export the certificate with private key from the master to add to the local controllers?

• 2.  RE: Multi-controller captive portal SSL certificate

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Jan 16, 2012 06:33 AM

You have to generate a CSR for each controller, just like you would for each server in the real world....

• 3.  RE: Multi-controller captive portal SSL certificate

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Jan 16, 2012 10:22 AM

So I assume a second certificate with the same DNS name on a different controller wouldn't interfere? We'd like it to be lyndonwireless.xxx.yyy.zzz for all controllers.

• 4.  RE: Multi-controller captive portal SSL certificate
    Best Answer

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Jan 23, 2012 08:58 PM

My advice would be that you NOT generate the CSR on the controller, because we specifically make it very difficult (if not impossible) to get the private key off the controller.  If you want to use the same certificate on multiple controllers, I would suggest following this workflow:

1. Find a Unix box with OpenSSL on it

2. Generate the private key

3. Generate the CSR, using your desired hostname as the CN

4. Get the certificate from the CA

5. Put the certificate and private key back together as a PFX / PKCS#12 file, which will be password protected

6. Load the resulting file on all your controllers