Security

Guru Elite

Multi-controller captive portal SSL certificate

I did a CSR for my master controller and installed the certificate with the name wireless.xxx.yyy.edu. This is the name I would like to use as the URL for the captive portal redirect. How can I export the certificate with private key from the master to add to the local controllers?

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Guru Elite

Re: Multi-controller captive portal SSL certificate

You have to generate a CSR for each controller, just like you would for each server in the real world....

Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Guru Elite

So I assume a second certificate with the same DNS name on a different controller wouldn't interfere? We'd like it to be lyndonwireless.xxx.yyy.zzz for all controllers.

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480

My advice would be that you NOT generate the CSR on the controller, because we specifically make it very difficult (if not impossible) to get the private key off the controller.  If you want to use the same certificate on multiple controllers, I would suggest following this workflow:

1. Find a Unix box with OpenSSL on it

2. Generate the private key

3. Generate the CSR, using your desired hostname as the CN

4. Get the certificate from the CA

5. Put the certificate and private key back together as a PFX / PKCS#12 file, which will be password protected

6. Load the resulting file on all your controllers

There are lots of resources online to tell you how to do these common OpenSSL operations.  The one I typically refer to is here:  http://www.sslshopper.com/article-most-common-openssl-commands.html.  I'll cut and paste the important bits:

• Generate a new private key and Certificate Signing Request