Security

last person joined: yesterday 

Forum to discuss Enterprise security using HPE Aruba Networking NAC solutions (ClearPass), Introspect, VIA, 360 Security Exchange, Extensions, and Policy Enforcement Firewall (PEF).
Expand all | Collapse all

Terminating clients after exceeding the daily limit

This thread has been viewed 3 times
  • 1.  Terminating clients after exceeding the daily limit

Posted Jan 30, 2013 07:41 PM

We'd like to set some daily limit of data traffic for the guest clients. We've already set radius accounting which is working well but don't know how to terminate the client after he exceeds the limit. As I read in some documents, it should be realized by Radius CoA. Unfortunatelly I'm an Aruba novice and I'm not familiar with the CPPM's philosophy, yet. I read the accounting TN for Amigopod, but CPPM has different gui to set the policies, so it doesn't help me. Could somebody write me some advice or workflow how to set the profiles, policies, etc. in CPPM, please?

• 2.  RE: Terminating clients after exceeding the daily limit
    Best Answer

Posted Jan 30, 2013 08:06 PM

You will want to create a post-authentication enforcement profile ("Session Restrictions Enforcement"), and apply this to the sessions that should be restricted.

The options in the enforcement profile are hopefully self-explanatory: you can set Post-Auth-Check : Action = Disconnect, and then appropriate values for Bandwidth-Check : Check-Type = Daily, Bandwidth-Check : Allowed-Limit = 50, Bandwidth-Check : Limit-Units = MB.

• 3.  RE: Terminating clients after exceeding the daily limit

Posted Feb 12, 2013 08:56 AM

Hello amigodave.

This works fine for me.

Can I change user-role on mobility controller when user reaches his data limit ?

The reason is, that user is not disconnected, but he is droped to user-role (eg.) with lower bandwidth ?

Regards

Jaroslav

• 4.  RE: Terminating clients after exceeding the daily limit

Posted Apr 01, 2014 02:15 AM