Security

Occasional Contributor II

Trouble with setting up ClearPass Guest Self Registration

Hi.  I need help in figuring why I'm unable to get the guest self registration web page come up when I connect up to my guest SSID.  The logs state there is an error 201 Authentication failure User not found.  Cannot select appropriate authentication method.

I've gone through various guides and it looks like I have everything configured correctly on both the controller and in ClearPass.  I'm completely stumped.

Thanks for any help with this.

Guru Elite

Re: Trouble with setting up ClearPass Guest Self Registration

Do you have the guest user database as an authentication source under your
guest web login service?

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480

Tim,

Thanks for the reply.  Excuse the noob questions as I'm brand new to ClearPass.

When you're referring to the authentication source for my guest web login service, are you referring to the guest service I configured in CPPM or is there a spot some where in the ClearPass Guest part?

Guru Elite

[ Edited ]

zx10guy,

If an incoming authentication is not classified, that means it did not satisfy the initial requirements of the service rules to handle it: below is a guest access service and listed on the summary and service tab are service rules for that specific service to handle an incoming authentication.  If you look at the access tracker on the failed authentication and look at the Input tab, it will tell you what the incoming attributes were for authentication.  You can compare it to the requirements on the service tab to see what you were missing:

service.PNG

For guest access it is probably best that you create the service using a service template in CPPM, because it will save you some time.  If you want to stick with what you have, please use the suggestion above to figure out why it is not being classified/handled by your guest service.

Colin Joseph