Security

Reply
MVP
Posts: 286
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Upgrade CPPM 6.2 to 6.3 Directly

[ Edited ]

Hi all,

 

I know many of you have done this, but this is my first major CPPM upgrade, so I am cautious.  I’ve read the release note and a few posts, but I still need some verifications:

 

  1. My CPPM version 6.2.6.62196, I plan to upgrade to 6.3.2.63239 which already loaded in my Firmware & Patch Updates along with CPPM 6.3.0.60537
  2. According to release note I can upgrade image directly within CPPM.
  3. My CPPM is VM (which is not my stuff) with iSCSI 0:0 (That I should never remove), and iSCSI 0:1 with provisioned storage 273 GB.
  4. I did generate and saved backup.tar.gz.  I do not worry about the Insight DB or log DB 

Questions:

  1. Requirement for CPPM 6.3 is 500 GB disk space, so should my VM guy delete SCSI 0:1, increase the HD size BEFORE my upgrade?
  2. What is in SCSI 0:1? Do I lose everything and have to restore from my backup after upgrade?  Will CPPM still boot if SCSI 0:1 delete?

Best Regards,

 

 

~Trinh Nguyen~
Boys Town
Contributor II
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎05-14-2012

Re: Upgrade CPPM 6.2 to 6.3 Directly

you need to create  a separate hard drive space iSCSI 0:2 (500GB) before you do the upgrade.

MVP
Posts: 286
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Upgrade CPPM 6.2 to 6.3 Directly

ado75,

 

Thank you for taking time to answer.  OK, I'll ask VM team to create 500GB iSCSI 0:2, and I click Download in CPPM Firware & Patch Updates.  Will Upgrades knows to use iSCSI 0:2? or do I or VM team need to do anything to makesure the new CPPM 6.3 will be installed in iSCSI 0:2? 

 

Thanks,

 

~Trinh Nguyen~
Boys Town
Contributor II
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎05-14-2012

Re: Upgrade CPPM 6.2 to 6.3 Directly

Upgrade knows. Please refer to the upgrade section in TechNote

MVP
Posts: 286
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Upgrade CPPM 6.2 to 6.3 Directly

VM team postpone my upgrade.  I'll update the accept solution if it works!

Kudos for the help.

~Trinh Nguyen~
Boys Town
MVP
Posts: 286
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Upgrade CPPM 6.2 to 6.3 Directly

The upgrade went well last night.  My recommendations: following the tech note, after hit the “upgrade”, take a break for 1.5 hour.  At a few times you see an error like “postgress”, “http”, you think the upgrade hang, but it overcame and worked.

~Trinh Nguyen~
Boys Town
Contributor II
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎05-14-2012

Re: Upgrade CPPM 6.2 to 6.3 Directly

Glad it worked
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: