Security

last person joined: 2 days ago 

Forum to discuss Enterprise security using HPE Aruba Networking NAC solutions (ClearPass), Introspect, VIA, 360 Security Exchange, Extensions, and Policy Enforcement Firewall (PEF).
Expand all | Collapse all

Upgraded CPPM 6.6 from patch 2 to 3 - ssh client fails: Malformed RADIUS packet

This thread has been viewed 4 times
  • 1.  Upgraded CPPM 6.6 from patch 2 to 3 - ssh client fails: Malformed RADIUS packet

Posted Jan 06, 2017 02:49 PM

I have been using MobaXterm as my SSH client for many months, with mostly no problems. Good thing I've kept PuTTY installed "just in case"

On Tuesday I was able to SSH in to my Cisco gear - which all look to CPPM for RADIUS auth - and then last thing Tuesday I patched ClearPass.

Being snowed-in meant I couldn't test on Wednesday.

Thursday I couldn't connect from MobaXterm's SSH client, but PuTTY could. I just realized that the change coincided with the patch.

Anyone got an idea what to troubleshoot first?

RADIUS warning

• 2.  RE: Upgraded CPPM 6.6 from patch 2 to 3 - ssh client fails: Malformed RADIUS packet

Posted Jan 09, 2017 05:04 AM
    Hi,

It's unusual that one SSH client works and the other fails to authenticate with that message. Are there any configuration differences between the SSH clients?

Also, I'd recommend to us TACACS+ instead of RADIUS for admin user authentication. ;) But that's a different matter.

• 3.  RE: Upgraded CPPM 6.6 from patch 2 to 3 - ssh client fails: Malformed RADIUS packet

Posted Jan 09, 2017 01:50 PM

Now we have two SSH clients failing - on Cisco 1941 and 2960, but not ASA or non-Cisco gear.

I'm queued up for TAC now.

I'll let you all know what we get.

• 4.  RE: Upgraded CPPM 6.6 from patch 2 to 3 - ssh client fails: Malformed RADIUS packet

Posted Jan 09, 2017 05:08 PM

TAC gave me a quick and straight forward answer: