Security

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-04-2016

Using HTML5 video on Captive Portal

Our client requires to play a video on Captive Portal.

 

I uploaded an advertisement video and tried to use html5 video tag, but it didn't work.

 

I found a topic related to my problem, but I didn't force them watch,

 

Here's my code.

 

<center><video width="880" height="500" autoplay>
<source src="movie.mp4" type="video/mp4">
Your browser does not support the video tag.
</video></center>

 

Thanks for your help

Guru Elite
Posts: 7,821
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Using HTML5 video on Captive Portal

What are you seeing on the client?

 

HTML renders client side so the controller is just serving up the HTML page.


Tim Cappalli | Aruba ClearPass TME
@timcappalli | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480 / ACEAP / CWSP
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-04-2016

Re: Using HTML5 video on Captive Portal

It didn't work on Android platform and iOS.

 

The video frame shows black. 

 

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 7,821
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Using HTML5 video on Captive Portal

Where is the video hosted?

Tim Cappalli | Aruba ClearPass TME
@timcappalli | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480 / ACEAP / CWSP
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-04-2016

Re: Using HTML5 video on Captive Portal

I uploaded a video to my aruba 7210.

 

The filename extension is MPEG4.

Guru Elite
Posts: 19,946
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Using HTML5 video on Captive Portal

You should do a decrypted packet capture on the client to see what is being communicated:

 

(Aruba7640-US) #packet-capture destination local-filesystem                     
(Aruba7640-US) #packet-capture datapath wifi-client <mac address of client> decrypted 
(Aruba7640-US) #show packet-capture datapath-pcap

The "show packet-capture datapath-pcap" command will show you the traffic going back and forth to see what is being transmitted and the port.  For the actual packet capture, you will need to take the logs.tar with tech support from the controller and look for the datapath.pcap for the actual packet capture so you can see what the client is communicating back and forth.

 

When you are done, make sure you type "

no packet-capture datapath wifi-client <mac address of client> 
Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Validated Reference Design Guides : http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Validated-Reference-Design/tkb-p/Aruba-VRDs
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: