Security

last person joined: yesterday 

Forum to discuss Enterprise security using HPE Aruba Networking NAC solutions (ClearPass), Introspect, VIA, 360 Security Exchange, Extensions, and Policy Enforcement Firewall (PEF).
Expand all | Collapse all

Wired NAC using ClearPass and Avaya switch, MAC and Certifate authentication

This thread has been viewed 14 times
  • 1.  Wired NAC using ClearPass and Avaya switch, MAC and Certifate authentication

Posted Mar 22, 2017 05:49 AM

Hi Everybody,
    I'm new to ClearPass but have been playing with this now for sometime in the LAB.
    I'm wondering if somebody has experienced something similar to this. Whenever the PC with the machine certificate is connected to the switch port in the access tracker I first see a reject based on the MAC authentication and then about 30 seconds later an accept based on the certificate authentication. It looks like the switch always offers up 2 kinds of authentication methods to the Clearpass server (first MAC auth) although the PC connecting is configured for 802.1x authentication using a machine certificate (I didn't see this effect using Juniper switches).
    I have tried configuring a single service combining both MAC auth and 802.1x (EAP TLS (no auth)) and 2 single services, the top one using EAP TLS and the second for MAC auth but I still get the same error. Everything is 'working' but with the side effect that the 802.1x PC is always rejected first and then accepted afterwards. Another funny side effect is that if I connect a device to the switch it looks like the Avaya switch sends a re-authentication request for all other devices already connected to the switch.
    I can not test a different software version on the switch at the moment as the customer is running this version on all his switches.
    Avaya details: Ethernet Routing Switch 4850GTS-PWR+  HW:15  FW:5.6.4.1   SW:v5.6.5.013 BN:13 (c) Avaya Networks
    ClearPass details: vers. 6.6.0.81015